18.653 seconds to memorize a 52 cards deck in random order

in #learning8 years ago

Any memory sport geek out there?

http://mullenmemory.com/blog/2016/5/10/2016-usa-memory-championship-recap
Alex Mullen, current memory champion and world record holder for learning a deck of cards, just did it again. He took 18.653 seconds to learn the order of a shuffled deck of cards, awesome!

If you're interested in how it's possible to do that, the answer is: Method of loci. It's an awesome technique, that enables almost everybody to learn countless things by heart, check it out! Or ask me.

Sort:  

Hi @eggturtle, I am the founder of memory-sports.com and I am the first memory sports journalist. I am posting about memory techniques here on Steem every day now. I interviewed Alex and he interviews me (lol). He has already cracked the 14 seconds on Memory League: https://app.memoryleague.com/?a=t+steemit

Follow me to stay up to date.

Uaaassshh, amazing

Wow impressive. Yes my memory is fading with age. I googled the Method of loci method and definitely interested in learning the technique. Maybe you can create another post with your own tutorial?

So here is an article I've just written on it: https://steemit.com/learning/@eggturtle/the-method-of-loci
It's original content freshly written, but it's long to describe all the relevant things to say (plus, it's quite abstract and counterintuitive). I will write more if people are interested

I am certainly interested and I will post myself as much as possible about this topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28