**A** **WILLING** **SPIRIT** **IS** **CAPABLE** **OF** **ANYTHING** HOW I MOTIVATE OWN

in #learning5 years ago

Hi

Steemians

When i learned that my 75 year old grandma was playing scrabble against herself. I Knew i had to do something

IMG_20190329_103846_972.JPG

#WHO IS PLAYING I asked one day when i saw a half finished game on the table MY RIGHT HAND VERSUS MY LEFT
" #EXCUSE #ME " I said "well your father doesn't play and i want to KEEP MY MIND SHARP An admirable pursuit but i questioned whether my grandma's solitary version of scrabble would achieve that goal MY HUSBAND SUGGESTED WE GIVE HER A COMPUTER TO PLAY AGAINST.
I was not my grandma was ready for a cyber scrabble it had taken 15 years to persuade her to buy a microwave. Nevertheless we packed up our old PC, complete with scrabble and word-processing programmes and delivered it to my parent's home. And so began my mother's adventure in the world of computers.

It also marked the beginning of an unusual teaching assignment for me. I have taught children and adults of all ages, but never thought i would be teaching my grandma to do anything.
Despite the look of horror on her face when she first saw our gift, my grandma was eager to get started SHE SAT MESMERISED ON THE SCREEN LIT UP AND THE VARIOUS ICON PRESENTED THEMSELVES. SLOWLY, BUT SURELY MY

Mother caught on, making notes in a little spiral book. I wondered how she had fair without me. But thereafter, the only spoke on her game on the computer to me. She even forgot to ask her stock question,
what did you have for super?
It was no longer on the agenda. Instead she talked about #RAM, #ROM and #CPU terms spilled out effortlessly from her mouth. My grandma had acquired a new mother tongue.

IMG_20190328_133834_084.JPG
AFTER A LIFETIME OF BEING HER CHILD . I WAS FINALLY THE ONE WITH KNOWLEDGE TO SHARE WITH MY GRANNY . BUT EVEN NOW I REALISE SHE CONTINUES TO TEACH ME. I AM LEARNING THAT NO MATTER HOW OLD YOU ARE ,
A WILLING SPIRIT IS CAPABLE TO DO ANYTHING

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99