#Learnandearn Contest. My entry to week 24

in #learnandearn5 years ago

Source

Greetings
This is my entry for @brittandjosie’s #Learnandearn contest

Details here: https://steemit.com/learnandearn/@brittandjosie/learnandearn-contest-by-brittandjosie-join-in-when-you-want-to-earn-while-you-learn

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

What have I learned in the last 7 days?

It’s been a particularly bumpy week, full of disappointments and complications. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I am having lots of trouble posting daily, partly because I’m without a phone now and that was my main source of internet connection.

  1. I have learned that finding a reliable repair guy for a smart phone is nearly impossible in Venezuela. I already knew that replacing that phone was just impossible for me at the moment. Thus, having it repaired at an affordable price is still my only option. I gave it to another guy who is “working on it.” Usually, the main problem is the parts. You can’t find them.

  2. I have kept reading as much as I can, especially now that I can’t spend much time on Steemit. Reading over William Degregorio’s Complete Book of American Presidents, I learned that at least 3 American presidents died on the 4th of July (John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, (1826) and James Monroe (1831)). James Madison could have joined the group had he accepted “stimulants to keep him alive until July 4”, but he had a “change of mind” (allegedly some of his last words). He died on June 28, 1836.

  3. The first president born an American citizen was Martin Van Buren, the 8th president of the USA (DOB 1782), “his predecessors all were born prior to the Declaration of Independence and thus were born British subjects.”

  4. Van Buren was probably the most openly pro-slavery president (all his predecessors, with the exception of John Quincy Adams, had similar ambivalent and evasive postures on the subject and had therefore avoided open statements that would make them look too pro-slavery), despite the fact that he eventually supported the union during the civil war. In his inaugural address he said, “I must go into the Presidential chair the inflexible and uncompromising opponent of every attempt on the part of Congress to abolish slavery in the District of Columbia against the wishes of the slaveholding States, and also with a determination equally decided to resist the slightest interference with it in the States where it exists”.

  5. With the recent arrests and raids without search warrants to opposition congressmen and politicians’ relatives, it seems that no matter who falls nothing will be done to stop Maduro and his cronies.

  6. After grudgingly watching only 54 minutes of Avengers End Game, I must be among the 5% (?) of people who thinks it sucks. Public opinion, trends and reputation seem to preclude common sense and critical thinking.

  7. I can't make a skype call and I can download a Mega video.

Thanks for your visit

Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visítanos en: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Dear @hlezama thank you for your learning curve and entry for the contest. Getting things done without your phone is difficult I can imagine that’s why it’s great you are blogging so steadily! I think the president van Buren is Dutch from origin, his name is Dutch and very common here. Our king uses that name as an alias! Funny that your blog made me think off that.
I did not know equipocardumen !

Tomorrow the winners will be announced
Gr.
Britt

You're welcome. Thank you for this fun contest that gives us the opportunity to think about what we have learned over the week.
Yes, President Van Buren was of Dutch descent. It was said that when he got mad a Dutch accent popped up.
#equipocardumen is the group of venezuelan (most of them from Cumaná) teachers, musicians and painters that drove me to Steemit. We have faced serious problems that have threatened the prosperity of the group. We were publishing from three different literary/artistic magazines, posting contest and winning (the poets and writers of the group) most literary contest. Now, most the group is out of the platform. Some cannot even afford the phone/internet bill, some just don't get any service, athers just gave up after crappy market and curations.

I knew it! We Dutch we’re everywhere, I don’t know if he was a good president. The situation in your country is hard I cannot even imagine, but I take my hat of for you and the engagement you display on the platform, I hope you can go on with equipocardumen it’s great to have a group off same minded people.

Thanks. You have no idea how talented these people are. I was very intimidated when we started this. Most of my colleagues and friends in the group are WRITERS or PAINTERS or SINGERS/MUSICIANS, they are brilliant. I had never written a poem or a short story before Steemit. Some of them have novels, collections of poems or short stories (or both) published.
A dozen of them are now somewhere in Latin America (@chretien, @antoaristi, ) and in some European countries (@evagavilan, @wilins ).

About Van Buren, he was an average president (ranked 17th out of 31), he just got a timebomb from Andrew Jackson (market panic).

Does the group need more exposure and is there more info in who is still in the group ?

Yes. More exposure is always needed. Most of the members of the group write/post in Spanish and the Spanish big accounts have been off and on. Some of the alliances have not been kept in time. Some delegations to accounts that suported us were withdrawn, so most of the post make very little, furthering the discouragement of most members.
There are at least 39 active members. Usualy we post under #equipocardumen or #capitannemo, which is the account that manages the trail and resteeming. The only magazines that are actively posting these days are #citario and #astrolabio

Maybe I can do some thing about that ..... going to think about it

Hi @hlezama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.267 which ranks you at #7970 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 7960).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83