Education and people in India!

in #learn7 years ago

Hello Steemers, 

Here I am once again. And no, I don't have any super interesting topic to share, but I want to post today. Let me talk about something that happened this morning when I went to a meditation centre. To understand that that you will have to first understand how most of the Indians living in India think.

In India, after graduating high school, we are supposed to choose different streams or subjects for further studies. The three streams which lay a foundation are Arts, Commerce and Science. These courses lay the foundation on which people build their career. While all the courses hold the same value, people have a different notions about it. Let me tell you what all this is about.

ARTS: Even though this is the most interesting and creative course available, people think that only losers opt for this. No, I am not being crude. Usually functions are places where relatives and family friends come to you and ask what are you studying. If your answer is Arts, you can watch their face getting all scrunched. Somehow, they manage to fake a smile and move along. Later, if you keep an eye on them, you will probably see them discussing your poor intellect with another guest. Your interest for literature or excellence in writing doesn't matter at all. If you are an Arts student, you probably scored below 60% in High School and aren't witty enough to study anything else.

COMMERCE: The next one in the hierarchy that sits right above Arts is Commerce. If you are a Commerce student, that means you are an average student. You are too good for Arts but not good enough to understand Science. Your aspiration to become a leading entrepreneur one day or top level executive in a conglomerate don't matter at all. One day you might have thousands of Science graduates on your payroll, but will still be the senseless average guy or girl. If you are the School topper and yet choose to study Commerce, you can see relatives whom you have never met before coming in to advice you. 'Cause Commerce is so blehhh!

SCIENCE: "Science? Woah! That's so hard." You must be a topper" "I am so proud of you, beta". These are some lines that science students usually get to hear. Yess! They are the toppers out there. The thousands of Rupees that your parents paid as donation to get admission into the college because of your poor grades in High School? No, that doesn't matter. All that people notice is the Science Student tag that you wear. These are the students that everyone looks up to just because the society has titled this course to be superior. Every parent wants their child to be a Doctor or an Engineer just because they don't want their child to be condemned by the society. Other dreams and aspirations? No, they are for losers.

Now that you have an idea about all this drama, let me tell you what happened today. I met this lady who asked me what I do and when I told Commerce, she did all but roll her eyes. That was so mean. I don't like science, there are other things that interest me. I wish people would get it. We can move forward only when we leave these judging skills behind and we need to do that SOON!

And here's a shoutout to all those amazing people there who are following their dreams despite the comments or reactions they receive. You people are doing a great job and continue doing it as long as it makes you happy!

Woah! That was quite lengthy, wasn't it? I came here to type something short and look how much I ended up typing. 

Anyway, let me sign off now! Thank you for reading! Bye Bye! 


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23