Lead by an example

in #leadership6 years ago

Process-innovation.jpg
Hello friends,

This is Manish Jha, by profession an IT consultant, a Toastmaster and a life long learner to be a good reader, writer, speaker and listener. I got something to share while breaking ice to say something about my self.

Have you heard there is a saying “No matter what, you can’t change anyone’s nature or their character, because it’s so hard to change even our own. Can you imagine working yourself with different types of leaders and you know you are different than them. Don’t you think it is difficult? I would say it’s too difficult.
Let me tell you. I’ve worked with two types of leaders at my current work place. One who got bureaucratic leadership style and the other one got Authoritative leadership style; and let me confess I prefer to work with Innovative leadership style so I selected Innovative planning path in Toastmaster education. My bureaucratic leader got 2 years time to groom me as per the project requirement. Believe it or not, it was so tough to work with him that I can’t express enough. However, he is a very nice person but at work simply doesn’t know how to say things clearly, how to get to the point and finish discussion within time. Due to which it takes a lot of time makes someone understand what he means to say. I always ended up frustrated discussing with him and moved out with fake smile. See how much Toastmasters skills he needed. I asked him to join us. Guess what, he doesn’t have time.
Another character he talks 80% based on assumptions, experiences which is often gets wrong and only 20% based on facts. Once he got offended and wrote to me in an email, don’t try to be bossy I’m your boss because I said please don’t underestimate my time and efforts. He never challenged me or assigned me the actual challenging work as per my role in the whole 2 years to test my ability. When actual project was going live at the customer place in Brunei he asked management to provide someone else because Manish can’t do it. He doesn’t have this experience. This was his reply to the management. Darkest day of my life. Since project was at client place, management decided to send another resource but upon his arrival. He was asked why Manish can’t perform. Why couldn’t you prepare him? He was hopeless and frustrated as I was. He never trusted me that I can, he never understood how I want to understand rather imposed how he wants me to understand. He finished losing a team member and I lost my market value. That’s why it so difficult to work with bureaucratic leader.
Bureaucratic leadership doesn’t work well when you handle highly skilled people and especially in long term project.
Time changed, an authoritative leader stepped into my life. I started working with the high performing team. Authoritative leader is usually more knowledgeable and experienced than they lead. He set very clear direction and inspired for what to do when project requirements or direction gets changed. The outcomes have been 1st 6 months good effort, expecting you to be more productive from my 2nd leader who himself is famous notorious for being not easily convincible. After 1 year, I was recognized of extraordinary contributions for my effort in 4 +different projects along with salary rise of 25%. I’ve been assigned with the most challenging work, have proved yes, Manish can outperform. Ladies and gentlemen this complete 3 and half’s years I saw many ups and downs, downs and ups, end of 2 years I was helpless, frustrated, Manish can’t perform which made me either do or die to prove once again due to somehow a leadership. I even started hating my job and got self doubt I can’t do more. Another leadership made me sit into an auto pilot mode and recognized for what I least deserve. I liked somehow authoritative leadership though I personally feel more rewarding satisfactory working with Innovative leadership style. Innovative leadership is to solve any complex problems with highly skilled professionals using clear communication, collaboration to identify strengths and innovative ideas to solve, but never forget the basics of leadership no matter what style you have, try to lead by an example, which is to empower and grow a better individual, accomplish personal goals which takes real blood sweat and tears and let each one in the team contribute to the success of team’s objectives. For which we have a lot to learn from Toastmasters. if you think I'm promoting Toastmasters then choice is yours.

Regards,
Manish Jha
IT consultant,
Toastmaster,

Sort:  

Get a $13.00 Upvote and Your Post Resteemed to My 2 Accounts @a-0-0 and @a-a-a with 72,500+ Followers. Send 3 SBD with Your post URL in MEMO to @a-0-0

@manish86jha, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Thank you very much. I'm new here, would love to have your encouragement. I'll give a follow to you. Together can make a big success.

Congratulations @manish86jha! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @manish86jha! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76