How to Fight the Loneliness of Leadership

in #leadership7 years ago

Starting and owning a business is lonely, hard work, and without support, it is easy to be discouraged.

In the past 15 years, I’ve started four businesses and two non-profits. Each has begun with great enthusiasm. There was an initial idea that just wouldn’t go away that I had to act on. As the structures of the business and the products came to place, my hopes rose, and the thrill of the first few sales and interested parties were like their own drug.

But of course, there were challenging, lonely moments. Sales dried up. No one seemed interested in me, my mission, or my products. Doubt crept in, and temptations to give up were frequent.

Thankfully, with good mentors and a supportive spouse, I’ve been able to persevere through those moments. Some of my efforts have been successful, others not so much.

The key, I’ve learned in the midst of the ups and downs, is to remain focused on my goals. For the non-profits, I knew we were doing good. I knew we were helping people. I needed to focus on that. For the businesses, I knew we were providing solid products and helpful services. Educating my customers about those products and services, while tightening my procedures, were key.

What about you? Do you ever struggle with the loneliness of ownership or leadership? What do you do to remind yourself to persevere? I encourage you to do a few of the things mentioned above. Remind yourself of the good you are doing. Double up your efforts to help others. Focus on providing solid products and helpful services. Educate your customer base and tighten up your procedures.

No matter what, don’t attempt ownership alone. Find a mentor or consultant. Entrust your thoughts to an honest, supportive friend.

Just don’t go it alone.

lonely.jpg

Sort:  

So many good tips here. Thanks for sharing this! Having a mentor is huge, I couldn't agree more.

Thanks, Keys. You've been a big help for me in these things.

Yes, I totally agree with you! But is a (supportive) spouse necessary at all? I think it depends and then the firm culture and philosophy just looks a bit different ;) Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30