Mid-Week Musings: Leadership

in #leadership6 years ago

A70E0D19-E50A-4275-B24D-9AE305E50E4C.jpeg

Leadership can be challenging. I have been reminded of this a couple of times this last week, both from some volunteer work and at my job, as I have started a new project and am coordinating multiple parties in order to get on the same page and achieve our shared goal.

The volunteer work isn’t overly complicated, but has people’s feelings involved, which is always a bit tricky. My new project is quite daunting as it will take months to complete. So today, I pulled an old classic off the book shelf for encouragement: The Leader in You by Dale Carnegie.

I am sure many of you are familiar with this book, as it is iconic and a book every leader should read. I skimmed the chapter, “Teaming Up for Tomorrow” and found many encouraging nuggets. I thought I would share a nugget that was helpful to me today, so here is an excerpt:

“Create a shared sense of purpose:

People working together can accomplish tremendous things. What gives a team that special boost is the unified vision the individual members share. The ideas, the creativity, the intelligent sparks will ultimate have to come from the group itself. But a strong leader is often needed to focus all that energy – to clarify the vision, to establish goals, to help everyone understand what the team is about, to show the team members how their accomplishments will impact the outside world.”

I am not sure if this gave you any encouragement like it did for me, but I am re-energized and ready to take the lead on these new projects.

What energizes you as a leader?

Brian

Sort:  

As a leader it's difficult to build a team but only a responsible leader can do it. And make his project to be a successful project. . Leading a group can be a challenge, as you are trying to motivate and bring out the best in them. But of course, the best way to motivate them is to educate them on the bigger purpose you all share, the ends you are trying to meet, and how their individual capabilities make success happen.As a leader, motivation is not a one-time task, but a regular one.So talking to your team and making sure they are doing well are important.thanks to sharing for your important tropic...very well done.. my dear friend..@brian.rrr

@brian.rrr, your timing is impecable! I am currently working on a project that will definitely benefit from your shared thoughts. Although the concept of presenting a "shared sense of purpose" is quite familiar to me, the reminder is certainly welcomed! Since you are also currently in a similar position, I wonder what your thoughts are regarding working with a team that resents the thought of progress since to them it translates to unwelcomed change? Although we could perhaps say that creating a shared purpose might alleviate this, I honestly believe we are too far from that thought still. Thanks for sharing this post, like I said before....your timing is perfect;0)

I think that becoming a leader is the simple fact that you are a leader and you are doing a great job now you just have to know how to take it without being discouraged in your case for example, I have always believed that it is good to read and learn a little about people they know that they give you advice is good to listen too, I think you should not lose your calm you have to have faith that everything will be very good, I am glad that this book helped you I did not know it and good to work as a team and listen to people who they are with you that is my advice

People who work together can accomplish tremendous things. What gives a team that special impetus is the unified vision that individual members share. Ideas, creativity, intelligent sparks will have to come from the group itself. But it often takes a strong leader to focus all that energy: clarifying the vision, setting goals, helping everyone understand what the team is all about, showing team members how their achievements will impact the outside world.

I'll tell you my story, I have 14 years working with a wonderful team, with ups and downs like everything, a team is a great family, that is always willing to help, a family is also a great team, for example you have your family; you along with your children and wife, you will form a team forever, the leader always needs to find the balance, but always be willing to collaborate, leadership is born in you and the spirit of supporting you from others, the important thing is that the leader does not have the power and humility, humility to recognize, to listen and to contribute, so you will gain the respect of all, this is how my team has triumphed in all these years, excellent reflection, I must look for this book, thank you for sharing, sorry for my mistakes in English, use translator, use

No doubt it is not easy to be a leader either of your work, a school team or anything that requires a leader, I have played several times recently I play one recently leading a kitchen and I was the leader is a little difficult because everyone asked me how to do this and the other the pressure that the food was good taste many things I think even I got a little sick but what gave me energy was the support I felt of all besides were delighted with the food @brian.rrr

Hello friend, how are you all at home? good reflection midweek, be a leader or captain so to speak, it's hard work is not just about sending and giving instructions you have to work and have a bond with the people you have at your charge, I know you can do it I know you Very little but you are a great person besides intelligent, I hope to read that book at some point, I will look for it online

“Create a shared sense of purpose."

This is true. Leading a group can be a challenge, as you are trying to motivate and bring out the best in them. But of course, the best way to motivate them is to educate them on the bigger purpose you all share, the ends you are trying to meet, and how their individual capabilities make success happen.

As a leader, motivation is not a one-time task, but a regular one. So talking to your team and making sure they are doing well are important.

P.S.Seems like I have another book to add to my list, @brian.rrr .

Hello my friend @brian.rrr. Very encouraging and inspiring all the words written by you in this post, I really read the entire publication and left me a good message at the end and you could even say that it helps to reflect. You are an exemplary person, a good father, a social person and, above all, very intelligent when expressing yourself. Well, it energizes me as a leader every day is to enjoy every day to the maximum, live without remorse or hate towards others, we must always do good for things to go well, because life is one, so there is no to give head blows for bad things, if not go ahead and always doing good.

Making the whole thing different from how things have been working before.Always want to bring some of revolution ,

Kind of being addicted to help others , that would define me as a leader

It makes me think that I am a leader in seeing that there are better alternatives or better alternatives to achieve success, greetings, brother.

A leader is not born, a leader is made.

@calitoo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90