Sausage failsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lchf7 years ago

photo_2017-01-25_17-31-39

I thought I had a magic recipe for my salsa. Some kale, some tomatoes, some carrots, and then I have deliciousness.

I was very, very wrong.

Also playing in this dietary travesty is some organic, grass-raised beef sausages. No extra carbs.

photo_2017-01-25_17-31-27

They're very nice sausages. It's a shame what I did to them.

I made the salsa as I usually did. Blending everything into fine pieces:
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012

We melted some butter in the pan and tipped the salsa mix in, then stirred it all through:
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012

And added a little bit of water, and some spices that seemed nice:
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012

Then I put the sausages into the mix:
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012

And covered to allow to simmer:
Burst_Cover_GIF_Action_2017012

We let it sit for some time, until Hubby came home.

The end result was... not great. The sausages were very dry and the salsa sauce very bitter. I couldn't finish the sauce without sausages to neutralise each other. The kids and Hubby didn't mind, but this was just... nasty.

Never again.

Sort:  

That's very different from what we call salsa!

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we're curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”

― Walt Disney

Upvoted and followed!! Please follow me back 😊. Check out my first art post!
https://steemit.com/art/@sherry-dow/my-first-piece-of-posted-art-look-closely

Dunno if this helps or not, but I just bake our grain free sausages that look similar to that. Not for long, maybe 10-15 minutes. They usually come out pretty good. I have never been able to fry any kind of sausages without them being raw on the inside and burnt on the outside!

Have you had the salsa sauce raw before? Is that better?

Thanks for sharing your fails as well as your successes - it helps us all learn!

I usually just give the salsa a light turn through the pan to warm it over and get the butter all through it. Never had it raw. Not really game enough to try it yet.

The trick with frying sausages is to fry them S-L-O-W-L-Y so the heat can get all the way through. Otherwise you end up with the Mummified Backyard Banger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51