Layday: Hanging At The Beach And Recovering My Body [Just Kidding!] 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #layday7 years ago (edited)

'There is a fountain of youth: it is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring to your life and the lives of people you love. When you learn to tap this source, you will truly have defeated age.' - Sophia Loren

I will turn 36 in two months. Damn it! That's almost 40! FOURTY? Can't believe it. Probably that's the reason why my body is asking for some rest after a week of heavy surfing...?

But tell a surfer to go to the beach and relax... Nice try! :-)

This Was Supposed To Be a #layday

Everything was perfecly planned.

I took my towels, sun lotion, drinks and one of these glossy magazines full of interesting stories about celebrities. Then I found that cozy place (see picture above) where to stay. Great! 

The whole story seemed to be fantastic. Almost.

It's complicated to slow down from 100 to zero.

You might know that. 

If you have been on fire during a relatively long period of time, it's hard to calm down instantly. I really had to force myself to sit down and relax. But after a certain time I felt bored and needed to do something.

Well I took my camera then, went for a walk down the beach and took some photographs. 

I love these days when the sky is full of a white clouds marble.

It was the perfect afternoon. Almost. 

Unfortunately, while walking around and taking pictures I saw some surfers out there catching a bunch of really nice waves. Damn it! There it was again: the adrenaline starting to flood my venes. 

I stood at the shore and tried to think about something else. 

But it was too late. The idea was already anchored in my mind.

During yesterday's surfing session my board got broken. What actually looked like a shark bite was the simple result of a crash with another surfer. When I came out of the water I didn't remember it. But then a couple of hours later I did. It wasn't a serious issue so that's why I probably didn't memorized it well. 

Lucky me, I found a way to quickly repair my surfboard! 

The picture above shows the situation before and after fixing the board.

Sometimes it's very valuable being a girl. 

Today's morning I drove to the shop where I bought my surfboard in order to buy the materials needed to fix the board. When I arrived at the shop I found myself with the owner himself, a really cool and kind person. 

I told him that I wanted to purchase a repair kit for my surfboard. 

Apparently, I seemed to be completely stranded to him. So instead of selling me the equipment and letting me try to repair the broken part on my own, he fixed my board right away at the surf shop (for free)! 

What an incredible move! 

So in the end the layday turned out to be another surfing day :-)

"It's like the mafia. Once you're in - you're in. There's no getting out." - Kelly Slater 

Ha! Tell me about it. 

Lesson learned: the surfer mafia lives close to the beach :-)

Wishing you a wonderful weekend, steemians! Hope you are better at relaxing than I am!
Marly -


Pictures are all taken by myself (original content).

Sort:  

We are all that creative source within ourselves and when we follow our passions, work never really feels like work does it? On a side note, the only layday Forrest Gump ever pursued was Jen-nay. :) Namaste @surfermarly

That was cute - I never thought about "Jen-nay" being a day :-)
Thanks for your inspiring comments, I really enjoy reading them!!!
Happy weekend.

Great story. The only thing that baffles me is ... why did you take your board with you?

About the age - you are a child, just out of the high school :)

It's the feeling that is important not the calendar!

The surfboard is always stored in my car... Could have taken it out before leaving home ;)
You are right. Numbers shouldn't have any influence on our doings.
Thanks for your valuable thoughts! :) Wishing you a great weekend!

Hahaha. The Kelly Slater quote remids me on cryptocurrencies too :-)
Very cool article.

Thank you Jochen!!!
That quote works for a lot of insanities, yip! :-)

Absolutly it does. You are very welcome Marlene :-)

Very cool. I feel as if I were there with you!

Oh, that's probably the cutest thing you could have told me... Thank you!!!

That all seemed to work out just perfectly @surfermarly. The whole day was just as it should be :) Have a great weekend yourself, and it seems like you already are!

Life is like that, my friend. We shouldn't ever try to resist :-)
Have a wonderful weekend, too!!!

I surely will, Thanks mi amiga!

Great story and day!

Thank youuuu! I'm happy that you enjoyed it 😉

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hang loose Marly...

Keep SURF N ON,
Frank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42