You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Avoid Extortion By Costa Rican Authorities

in #lawless5 years ago

Now this is really sad since I am planing to move to costa rica.

is this in san jose? @dandays

I escaped from the nightmare which is my country, Venenezuela and then moved to Argentina where i have been recoverning, getting a better life and saving and I have some business opportunities in costa rica but reading this is extremely discouraging.

Do you have any other stories like this from CR?

Sort:  

Yes, the stories are countless, here’s a few quick examples. I’ve had between from 10-100 Colones stolen from me by toll booth attendants three times that I’m aware of.

The last taxi driver to steal from me got me for 50 Colones (USD $0.08).

The last grocery clerk who stole from me got my for 5 Colones which doesn’t even register, it’s equal to about USD $.004.

The last gas station attendant who stole 1 million Colones from me was pissed off when they were forced to return the money.

These are every day occurrences, like I said in the article, the only difference between authorities and non-authorities is an assault rifle—authorities extort you for much larger values, ranging anywhere from $100 to $1,500.

In my honest opinion, it’s worse in San Jose, it’s worse in all of the metropolis areas simply because there’s more people—more people = more thieves.

Thanks for stopping by @nero0x.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Woah. So sad man, and I am planning to move there. This is "malandreo" in pure form.

Malandreo is what we Venezuelans call to a specific behavior it's like a way of life, a very wrong and evil way to live that is common in most poor areas in Venezuela.

Now I am not generalizing, its not all Venezuelans, actually is less than the 10% but that kind of behavior, where people don't give the correct amount of change, where they don't stop on a red light, or when they steal something because no one is looking, where people steal an electricity cable to not pay the electricity bill, a behavior that congratulates the thievery and makes fun of the honest, is a disease and I particularly run away when I see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32