What are legal obligations towards the spouse and children while going through the divorce?

in #law7 years ago

Question I've asked on StackOverflow

https://law.stackexchange.com/questions/22527/what-are-legal-obligations-towards-the-spouse-and-children-while-going-through-t

Screen Shot 2017-09-09 at 21.22.03.png


Copy and paste in case it gets deleted

(by overzealous moderators)

Me and my spouse are going through the divorce.

We had a mediation session on 10th August (roughly a month ago).

J______ has been in touch to let us know that she no longer wishes to continue with mediation.

It appears to me that we will have to go to the court.

I would like to know what are my legal obligations right now?

Below is an email received from Mediation service, unfortunately it is vague:

There are no explicit rights around visitation and contact for parents, although parents do have an obligation to maintain their children. The parents can make decisions around contact arrangements; where no agreement can be reached, the Court can make decisions around arrangements for the children. The C100 is the form you will need to complete and submit together with the signed page 19 form to make an application for child arrangements.

Each parent has a responsibility to maintain any children financially. Parents can decide how much maintenance will be. If this is not possible an option is to contact the Child Maintenance Service who can calculate the amount.

I believe in:

  • AI (artificial intelligence)
  • crowdsourced wisdom
  • collective consciousness

More than an individual lawyer who has pervert incentives of charing me hourly rate rather than getting things done. On that basis I decided to document the process in an indestructible (been meditating on it for more than a month) manner on the blockchain: https://steemit.com/@osdivorce


I provided background information for a reason - I strongly believe that context, intention, surrounding information can play a key role in understanding the whole situation:

  • we do not communicate directly
  • we have post-nup agreement
  • my spouse claims I'm allegedly mentally ill
  • my spouse claims she has received eviction letter - date of eviction is 10th November

(I don't find it believable, the last day at property is 7th September, it's unlikely to have court hearing and get letter delivered by 9th September)

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76