You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decentralized vs. Centralized Organizations

in #law8 years ago (edited)

Decentralized organizations seem to be pretty good at shielding open source developers from any tax or legal liabilities at all. I applaud that; lawyers and governments may have a different opinion. I think shortcomings pop up in other areas, for example internal governance and external trust issues.

Even though I don't expect the price to drop, Bitcoin is a failed experiment if you ask me. It was designed as a math experiment and isn't equipped to handle a global currency worth billions of dollars. People like to say that there is no 'CEO of Bitcoin', but there is. He's called Wladimir van der Laan, and he's focusing on technical details but blocking the capacity improvements that users need. It's fascinating to see that Monero and Dash both have a better working governance model than Bitcoin, while Monero's model is much more informal than Dash's.

As someone who hates big corporations, I should read Coase to understand why they exist. One indication is that I trust Amazon to send me the products that I order, while I'm not so sure about a random person selling a second-hand book on the Syscoin market - even when protected by escrow and an arbiter. The DAO designed by Slock.it could in theory be trusted because everybody could read the code, but obviously the investors were not able to recognize the risks caused by this code.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54