You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copyrights vs First Sale Doctrine

in #law6 years ago

Some important points that anyone posting on the web should be aware of. Intellectual property is not respected much these days. I knew an artist that had her designs stolen by Target for clothing print and couldn't do anything because she didn't have the resources to go up against Target's lawyers.

Sort:  

The problem is partly due to corruption in government, specifically in corporatism, of deep state, and in the depravity of man. The line between what is intellectual property and what is not is a very big question. When you go down that path, like a tool, you can begin to copyright everything. Like common words. Like the words mother and father. Imagine if Disney copyrighted or trademarked the word "Incredible" because of the Incredible films. Then imagine getting thrown in jail if you leave me a comment that says, "That was incredible." Because you said the word Incredible. My example is very extreme but it is there to make a point. Slowly over time, things get worse and worse. I believe in free markets. I do not like monopolism so much. I do not like it when Universal emails me because there is music in the background of my YouTube video which is for my English class and is covered by fair use. I do not like it when YouTube says it is not fair use even as we all know it was fair use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48