Evidentiary Burdens in my life

in #law7 years ago

One way that being in law school has really impacted my day to day life is my constant demand from everyone that they meet an evidentiary burden before claiming anything is true.

In law, an evidentiary burden is the burden placed on the party wanting to prove something to adduce some evidence before it can be put before a jury.

In my life this manifests in my constant requirement of everyone to prove what they are claiming. My partner says "wear a coat it will snow today" and I snap back with, "how do you know?". This may seem typical but as she replies "the weather app" I retort, "and how often is that accurate?".

Because I am now trained to think about how weak or strong the evidence being presented is. Not only do I require proof of everything, I require what I would consider good proof. Something tested. Something reliable.

This is great when things that are claimed should be challenged. Claims that are racist, sexist, or hurtful. Claims that are stereotypical. Someone claims that all cops are bad people, that black people commit more crime, that women are all emotional and vindictive, that those girls on tv lately are lying about sexual assault, and so on and so on... To these people, these ignorant people, I say "prove it".

But still, I wish I could just say "yes dear" and put on a coat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45