Meditation on God's law: I have chosen the way of truth; I have set your ordinances before me. Psalm 119:30

in #law14 days ago

The Psalm 119 is a praise to God for the blessing of the law. How beautiful is the law of God for those who fear God, the hymn teaches. God blessed the nation of Israel with the commandments when Moses received the tables of the law on Mount Horeb and the Psalm is a recognition of the glory of God.
And this law teaches the Psalm guides men along the path of truth, because the law is not simply the fulfillment of a series of orders and imperatives, as the sapiential books teach with wisdom: "Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man", Ecclesiastes 12:13.
The law is a gift from God so that men can find the correct path in life, and also so that men can see the world with the eyes of God. The law is a lamp in a world full of darkness.
This is why the Psalm, like Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount, begins with a beatitude, because paradoxically those who seek happiness do not find it, happiness is for the lovers of God's law:
"Joyful are people of integrity,
who follow the instructions of the LORD.
Joyful are those who obey his laws
and search for him with all their hearts" Psalm 199:1-2.
And the Psalm continues with a meditation on how the spiritual gift of fear of God (constancy, firmness, devotion, equanimity, and stability) perfects the law, and brings it to its fullness:
"Keep me from the way of deceit
and graciously give me your instruction.
I have chosen the way of truth;
I have set your ordinances before me.
I cling to your decrees;
LORD, do not put me to shame.
I pursue the way of your commands,
for you broaden my understanding" Psalm 119:29-32.
In short, what the Psalm explains is that the law is one of the most important things for man because without the law the other goods are not possible; as the Bible demonstrated through events, when the people of Israel abandoned the law suffered destruction and banishment.
Meditation on God's law. I have chosen the way of truth; I have set your ordinances before me. Psalm 119,30.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85