Working laser cut gears!

in #lasercutting5 years ago

In my previous post I mentioned I had greated a laser cut locking mechanism using Adobe Illustrator.

Obviously the correct way to get a mechanical design that works is to use CAD, so here is my laser cut fidget gear thingy designed with Fusion 360 :)

It's not the only way, but I like how in Fusion 360 you can simulate the gears in operation before you get too far. It allows you to check tolerances and such, ensure nothing is going to block or get out of place.

Using the CAM feature I could have output to my CNC and routed it, but there is also a laser tool, and it even gives you the option of setting the kerf (see previous posts about that).

Sort:  

Cool fidget spinner thingy. I like it. It's pretty cool that you can simulate the operation. That's handy

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51