Mortise-and-Tenon Joints in Laser Cutting

in #lasercutting5 years ago

In my recent posts I showed my laser cut projects that were joined by what I was incorrectly calling "pegs".

Thanks to @steampunkkaja, I now know the technical term for this type of "wooden peg" construction is mortise-and-tenon_-_Google_Search.png

Quite simply, I make holes in my pieces, and strips of wood that match in size enough that when combined the pieces hold together through friction. The sizing requires awareness of another term:

kerf_-_Google_Search.png

You see, when cutting out the material along the lines you create, it will not produce a piece measured exactly as you defined it. In CNC, the kerf will be as a rule of thumb the width of your end mill.

In laser cutting it is the width of your laser beam at that depth of focus.

Pasted_Image_5_15_19__12_01_PM.png

For an engrave, the focus will usually be set to the surface, but for deeper cuts you will inevitably get a wider part of the beam, which produces a thicker line, and removes a wider strip of material, therefore your kerf is enlarged.

This means the measurement of your holes (mortise/mortice) needs to reduce and/or your tenon/peg needs to enlarge by that kerf amount to compensate and get snug fit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65