You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learn Tagalog - Lesson 1 (Basic Greetings)

in #languages8 years ago

Just a little tip guys, " ikinagagalak " is no longer used,not in the last 40 years.Majority of tagalog-speaking Filipinos now usesTag-lish, a combination of Tagalog and English. Before in our Filipino subject in school,root words of the language was being taught but not necessarily used nor applicable in daily conversations.
Good effort @expatlove

Sort:  

@immarojas, good point. I think I've heard it used a couple of times, though...or maybe I was dreaming. Anyway, I should probably do a separate post on Filipino English. For example, my asawa always tells me to "open the light" or "close the light." When I first got here, I was like, "Huh? What?" Now I say it myself. :-)

Lolsss one word means a lot of things. Am living with visaya people, some words are in filipino yet mean different things. Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60637.39
ETH 2405.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59