My quest to learn a new language

in #language6 years ago

Happy Weekend Steemit!
I was amazingly hot in Minnesota today, and it drained all of my brainpower.
Despite this, I have been trying to pack(I'm moving in 2 weeks) and continue learning Srebian.

I now have a real language tutor to meet with in person! I am very excited about this, as for the last 2 years, I have only had myself to speak to.
She is from Bosnia, and although she came to America when she was 5, she still speaks the language with her family.

I really started learning Serbian by learning old folk songs. This isn't the most useful method, since some of the words have changed over time, and the songs are always in specific dialects.
This was my first, about a girl that smells like brandy and carnations:)


Next, I turned to YouTube for lessons, and found some amazing videos by the user 'MyLateManager.'
This is what I have been working on lately.


It has taken me a long time to conquer this and that:)


On two opposite ends of the spectrum, I got an app for my phone, which I think is too easy, and I ordered a book, which is too hard.
book.jpg
The book is actually great, but it is intense, and sometimes I just have to put it down so I don't cry.


I have a sweet dragon journal to practice writing in. I actually use this journal for everything because it's so cool.
journal.jpg


Since being on Steemit, I also read the posts by @lighteye and @gorangoran. They do posts in both languages so I can test my knowledge every day:D
Hvala, @lighteye i @gorangoran!

Lighteye
https://steemit.com/portraitphotography/@lighteye/slavica-eng-srp-slavica

GoranGoran
https://steemit.com/teamserbia/@gorangoran/the-village-likodra


Recently I have also checked out Ulica Sezam(Sesame Street).
My current goal is to speak like a Serbian 5 year old.


Now that I have a person to speak to, I think I have all the pieces. I think all I need now is a passport!

Blessings to you Steemit.

Here are some pretty clouds:D
clouds.jpg


longlife2.jpg

Sort:  

Cool! I did the same to learn the languages, also with the dictionary :-)))

decades ago I learned Swedish by watching German movies in Stockholm with Swedish subtitles. In Sweden, movies are not dubbed over. Sadly, I forgot most of it, except I can read and make sense out of it if I strain my brain enough.

That's normal, we learn all, and when we start to get older we forget all ;-)))

Which languages did you study?

Learning a new language is hard work! I wish you success in your studies. Now I'm also learning a new language for myself. This language is Polish. I'm helped by songs that are not folk songs, but modern ones.

I should listen to modern songs, but I love the folk songs too much:)

wow! I have many friends in Serbia, but I am an old dog that can't learn new tricks - almost all my friends there speak English. Even if I would learn it (and actually it used to come easy to me in the past) I forget it as quickly if I don't practice - like, I once spoke fluently Swedish, but that was long ago when I lived there. So the only languages I speak fluently right now are German and English, because I use both on a daily basis.

I am so excited for you as I know that this is something you really enjoy friend! Cheers to one day traveling afar and using your new found tongue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72