Learn Hindi ( The Offical Language of India) in this Quick Guide!

in #language8 years ago

Hindi is the 4th most popular language in the world with more than 310 million people speaking it. Hindi is also the main language used in Bollywood the billion dollar movie industry. Infact Bollywood is the second largest movie industry.

If you ever come to India, first thing you need to do is message me. Next familiarize yourself with some Hindi words.


Image Source

India has two official langauges

  • Hindi
  • English

So, let's get started.

1. Hello!


Image Source

Namaste - नमस्ते.
Namaste means Hello. It should be used as a greeting.

2. My name is __= Mera naam ___he

(मेरा नाम ----- है)

Let's breakdown the meaning of each word.

  • Mera=my
  • naam=name
  • he=is
    For example: Mera naam Advait he

In Hindi the sentence structure is not the same as English. In English the sentence structure is subject–verb–object , whereas in Hindi it is subject object verb.
Don't worry this becomes very easy to understand , once you start learning the use of verbs in sentences..

3. Hello, It’s nice to meet you = Hello, aap se mil kar khushi hui.

हैलो, आप से मिल कर खुशी हुई)

Breakdown:

  • aap-you A respectful form of saying "you" .It should be used while adressing adults
  • mil kar -meet
  • khushi= nice/happy
  • laga -felt


Image Source

4. I am from ____ = mein ____ se hoon


Wikipedia

(में ____ से हूँ)

Breakdown:

  • Mein=me
  • se=from
  • hoon=am

When we re arrange the words in the form of subject object verb. It becomes mein India se hoon

5. I am ____ year old = mai ____ sal ka hoon.

(में इक्कीस साल का हूँ|)

Breakdown

  • me=I
  • sal=year
  • ka=of
  • hoon=am
    I'll be covering numbers later!

Let's be honest it's touch to learn a second language.But familiarizing yourself with the words is not that hard. And that's exactly my objective. To teach the basics of hindi to the Steemit community.

I'm going to make this an easy to follow series. Please follow me @slayer

Sort:  

i wish i could download languages into my mind like in the matrix lol it would be a lot easier

I know right! Have you seen the movie Limitless?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44