EMAIL OUR WORDS . . . CAREFULLY!!! 1st Agreement :)

in #language7 years ago (edited)

WhatduP Steemianz! Im sharing another insight into my inbox; copy-pasting this e-convo as an example, as I wanna share with you how our use of language affects our reality (it's good reminder for me too! ;)

TOAD.jpg
source

Recently orders for @vteam @steemshop superfoods have been coming to me, like a divine sign, clearly a clue of the Law of Attraction in action. After totalling up quote prices, a customer said "cut" the Acai Power, forgot how expensive it was. We'd aimed for 1KG of each superfood. I relate this word cut (due to my life-experience) to the process of cutting something; usually into 2 halves. Or the word "cut the fat" - meaning to reduce down. Or "cut" something short, while leaving some behind. So I assumed (doh! 3rd Agreement ;) and asked for 500g.

IF our beloved customer had used a slightly different word, something more specific, and less open to my interpretations; like "remove" Acai from the order, I would have very clearly known the intention, and been certain of what action to take; easily passing on the message to please remove the 1KG of Acai Powder from the invoice.

EMAIL.jpg
source

I share this as an example, not to stir up the subject, or correct anyone; I find myself always challenged with finding the best word for the situation; to be best understood, using the most universal wording, so Im certain people "get what I mean". Interpretation is a funny thing. We all interpret things differently. Some words are more loaded than others. If I say I love Apples, you get me. Yet if I say I love God, now we've opened pandoras box, you'll bring your entire life history and educational past stories and emotions into play, and none of us know what we're discussing by using that 3 letter word. I love you, too ;)

apple-sues-god.jpg
source

Here is a reminder of the 5 Agreements, and you already know them!

5 AGREEMENTs.jpghttps://steemit.com/love/@sebcam/i-couldn-t-care-less-what-anyone-thinks-of-me-i-live-the-5-agreements-everyday

--
PEACE
of Fruit


Truman

Step 1. Do what u LOVE. Do what EXCITES you.
Step 2. Share with Steemit to monetize Dream$.
Step 3. Remember BOREDOM is the Enemy...
(NOT some abstract "failure")


Starring @SebCam, as himself.
LIVE (every now & then)

FOLLOW my Steemit Friends:

@samstonehill, @kenistyles @iamjamie, @ned, @firepower, @heimindanger, @xaero1, @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @blueorgy, @clayop, @curie, @thecryptodrive, @followbtcnews, @furion, @fyrst-witness, @good-karma, @gtg, @jerrybanfield, @klye, @krnel, @pfunk, @pharesim, @jesta, @blocktrades, @someguy123, @teamsteem, @themarkymark, @timcliff, @dannyshine, @jockey, @chron, @tedcarr, @acidyo, @waykiwayki, @ravegirl, @shonariver, @daio, @budgetbucketlist, @ballinconscious, @the-alien, @darthvegan, @lukewearechange, @jrcornel, @donkeypong, @damarth, @doitvoluntarily, @cryptohustlin, @originalworks, @stephenkendal, @sirwinchester

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45