LEARNING THE PIDGIN ENGLISH ~ BROKEN ENGLISH FROM NIGERIAN

in #language6 years ago (edited)

I recently came across a twitter account of an american activist where he was suprised to find out that the Nigerian slang
MAGA-Translates to been an easily fooled person
While this same MAGA translates to Make America great again in America.This gave me an i dea to help educate people who are interested in this primary language from Nigeria,this language is literally broken english and it is spoken by 95% of Nigerians.The way we view our pidgin is the way jamaicans view their patois.
Probably if you have Nigerian friends you might have heard them throw alittle slang here and there.Down to business let me translate some english sentences to pidgin and drop some slang for the newbies........

1)I am very hungry~~ I dey hungry o

2)Don't even dare ~~ See no even try me at all

  1. Are you crazy?~~You dey craze?

4)I just got this from the shop over there,hurry up it's limited stocks only~~~Me i just buy am now now from that store wey dey that place but you go hurry sha,because na only small dey.

5)He is a fraudster~~ That guy na scam o..correct one like this.
Moving on to some slangs
■Osha pran pran / Oshan proper -Something that is brand new..Something thats trending,so hype.

■Ma_Le -Mother
■Pa_le -Father
■Pikin - A small child
■ E bi like -It's like
■ Na me - I

I hope you have benefitted from this..If you like it.I can continue next week.Thank you.

Sort:  

hahahah.. that is good ! :) is it Nigerian?
Please go and follow me also and read my first Intro post! And upvote and comment :)

Yes its Nigerian...Ill do that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41