PHRASES THAT HAVE THE SAME SPELLING OR BOTH SPELLING AND MEANING IN ENGLISH AND AFRIKAANSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #language7 years ago

Did you know that Afrikaans and English are both Germanic languages?  That is why there are many words that are spelled the same or spelled and mean the same in both languages. Check out the following poem for instance:


MY STORIES BEGIN AS LETTERS

My pen is my wonderland.

Word water in my hand.

In my pen is wonder ink.

Stories sing. Stories sink.


My stories loop. My stories stop.

My pen is my wonder mop.

Drink letters. Drink my ink.

My pen is blind. My stories blink.

SOURCES:

https://web.facebook.com/merisemedia/posts/1060629057281612?_rdc=1&_rdr

http://sillylinguistics.com/2016/12/21/afrikaans-and-english/


Sort:  

So very cool

I agree, thanks for the comment!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67495.61
ETH 3713.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66