How do you say "all this mess" in French?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #language7 years ago

One of the great thing I have experienced here on the Steemit-platform is the reception of my comic Phill from GCHQ. And the most pleasant surprise was when @shortcut asked if he could translate it to German, and @vcelier short time after asked if he could do the same with a French translation.

As a bonus I have also learned a bit of both languages when looking through the pages (and as I am doing an upgrade of the website so the translated pages can be right nows I have had plenty of opportunity).

And this is where I noticed that: All this mess translates to, or at least can be translated to: Tout le bordel in French. The word Bordel means a whorehouse in Danish, but I had to check before I believed it.

I can't say that I am all too surprised that the fabulous French language has such a wonderful methaphor, but I still really love that when you say: All this mess in English (and in Danish), the French can say: The whole Whorehouse :)


Sort:  

The word "bordel" means also a whorehouse (brothel, bordello) in French.
But it is also used as a synonym of "désordre" (mess, clutter, disturbance).
Of course it is not to be used in polite conversations!

Ta chambre est en bordel, va la ranger tout de suite!
(Your bedroom is a mess, go and clean it right now!)

If you want to amplify the notion of disorder or confusion, you can add the adjective "noir" (black):

C'était un bordel noir!

Thanks for the detailed background information. I really regret to never have learned french.

somehow I always get to learn the less polite end of languages. I am a very poor at speaking Italian, but I know a lot of... less polite words and phrases.

Love 'tout le bordel' as a phrase! I may need to keep it in my backpocket.

My brother Philippe just indicated to me that:

  • Your bedroom is a mess

could also be translated to:

  • Ta chambre est un vrai foutoir.

Needless to say that you don't use any of the words "bordel" or "foutoir" in a polite conversation.

If you want a more "polite" version, you can say "Tout ce bazar" (a word coming from persian).

Yes, there is some weird expressions in french. ^^

"Il pleut des cordes" : "It rains ropes" => "It rains a lot"
"Un soleil de plomb" : "A sun of lead" => "A blazing sun"
"Un vent à décorner un boeuf" : "A wind to dehorn a ox" => "A very strong wind"

Thanks for the extra expressions. Very funny.

Very interesting. I am French and I learn more and more English by dint of being on Steemit. "Bordel" in French means to say before any disorder when one says "C'est le bordel dans ta chambre". Or it's when you get annoyed you can say "Bordel !!" Or "Bordel de merde!". But it's also a brothel.

English is such a difficult language! There are far too many words ;)

Double meaning is sometimes very hard to figure out in other languages - I appreciate the extra variations you have added. I will end up being a master in this language!

Quelle degas ?


Est-ce que tu me parles?

Thanks for another one :)

I love translations, especially when they come back a bit off ;)

tout ce fatras would be another choice, although rarely used.

http://www.linguee.com/french-english/translation/tout+ce+fatras.html

Hey. I like your post.
Please, check my last story, I hope you would like it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63