Language That Relates Us 🌀

in #language7 years ago


Does the word "Hello" really mean anything? Or is it just the word we say when we greet someone, no different than an animal's greeting-grunt? Looking it up, and because it comes through multiple languages, there are a few less than certain claims as to the possible etymological root of the term. 



In Hebrew, the greeting used is "Shalom," and the meaning is certain - "Peace." According to tradition, Hebrew is the root for all language. Perhaps then, "shalom" is the true root for the word "hello" in many languages? I've pulled a few here, but there are still more that sound similar in a variety of ways. Of course there are also others that don't resemble shalom at all, which I've excluded. A couple of the consonants are anomalous and you might have to play with the letter sounds to hear the connection.


(Shalom) שלום


Salaam
Salom
Hallo
Halla
Allo
Hello
Hola
Ciao
Kao
Xin Chao
Ohai
Aloha
Talofa
Salut


So, does hello actually mean "peace?"


Well either way,

To you!


And does hello or goodbye in your language also sound like or resemble the word shalom?


(Bear waving back, Image of שלום)


Thanks For Your Attention and Support!

Melech ben Chaya מלך בן חיה, @inphiknit


Sort:  

Shalom, indeed, my friend. You once again have me thinking.

I would like to think that "hello" is derived from, and means, shalom. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Terrific!

So do I! And unless someone proves otherwise, or I stumble on contradictory evidence, I feel confidant so far! (There are so many more words like this...)

Shalom for you too :)

Good job brother

Thanks! Hopefully we will all soon realize that we are family...

Good one! I bet you could make many lists like this.

Lev
Love
Lub
Etc.

Shalom everyone!

Great one and drawing more connections in more lists is what I was thinking! May I please use that in such a series?

Thanks and shalom too!

For sure you can, no problem! I'll keep the idea in mind and suggest more if I think of some.

You're welcome too.

Awesome, thanks a bunch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65