You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deceptive Food Labelling

in #language7 years ago

Good to see you back to posting. :)

I had an IP lawyer tell me that the phrase "To the victor go the spoils." really meant that the winner gets to tell the history in their favor. It seems that kind of linguistic hostile takeover is even larger today in labeling and anything the government can get its hands on.

I would propose children in elementary school should be taught rhetoric and that would stop a lot of the BS that big media, big business and politicians get away with.

Sort:  

Hey Greg, I'm glad to be back, and glad to see you're still following.

I don't know the source of this quote and I'm probably paraphrasing it so badly that it's unsearchable, but it goes something like this: "the battle for the souls of men will be the battle for the meaning of words."

I don't think bad food labelling is the most nefarious example, but it's definitely true that language and hijacking language is used to manipulate. Freeing people from bad definititions is often the first step toward freeing their minds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62486.70
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66