Universal Language my Arse... Or Should I Say Ass

in #language7 years ago

Try living in a country that has 11 Official languages, then try speaking the English language; commonly referred to as "universal language", just to find the multitude of items that you'd be described by the same word given that time and space plays a role in this.


This is flapjack, from the Cartoon Network series The marvellous Misadventures of Flapjack


This is also referred to as a Flapjack


But then again these are also called flapjacks, however they are also called pancakes


On the other hand these yummy delights are also called pancakes and ALSO referred to as crepes


Do you call this Jam or Jelly?

Confusion sets in to mass extent!


source: youtube

This post was inspired by @steevc
Adding a song for dramatic effect was inspired by @dreemit

Sort:  

Well..arse sounds scottish ;) is it like that anywhere else? then UK english is different also to the US. Either way they sound funny plus the different accent ;)

It's definitely Scottish. son-of-satire uses it and he's Scottish, though as I told @breezin, I believe it might be the British word for it too, so probably the entire UK.
A phrase S-O-S uses that I think is hilarious and am starting to adopt is "I can't be arsed to do that" apparently they use arsed the way we would use bothered, lol :)

Nooooo..we rarely used arse in London ;)

So it is a Scottish word, I was wondering :)

Vote for British, well at least English and Scottish. I'm not sure I can imagine hearing it in a Welsh accent.

Many words have regionalism sense. I think every language has this kind issues.
Sometimes they are funny.
Imagine in China, with they multitude of dialects and regional languages

Agreed! Like I said South Africa has 11 different official languages and as so many others they all have their own regional dialect! it just becomes hectic when you comb out the details.

I have definitely noticed these things more since I've been on steemit. Do you say arse or ass? I know son-of-satire says arse and he's Scottish, though I believe it's the British word for it too. I like arse, hee hee. I'm particularly fond of giving arses a good smack, or goosing them. I"m known for it among my female friends (not so much the guys because my husband wouldn't be too keen on it ;)

:) Strangely when I write its normally arse, and when I speak, ass just rolls of the tongue better (at least untill i manage to nail a perfect Sean Connery accent) then definately ARSE all round

LOL! I was trying to think of a way to express how to say a certain word involving SH the other day, I wish this comment had already been made because that would have been the perfect description ;)

I have my moments! let me know if you ever need help with something like that, I seem to be good at wording creative anger

Creative anger, nice ;) I will definitely let you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78