You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motivational Guide on How to Master any New Language within 6 Months - by chrisadventures

in #language8 years ago (edited)

Whilst I think this is a good article, I want to point out that you cannot master a language in 6 months unless you are a savant (lookup Daniel Tammet to see what I mean).

Becoming proficient enough to get by in the language is certainly possible, but it takes a lot of work. Most people, especially if it's their first second language, don't have the courage to step outside their comfort zone and allow themselves to be embarrassed by mistakes.

But mastering takes years of living with the language and the culture that built it. I've been living in The Netherlands for 8 years and whilst I'm fluent, I'm certainly not a master at it, in spite of speaking it 90% of the time.

Sort:  

Hmm you're definitely right! The term "master" is quite relative though! Although I definitely believe that you can become close to "master" by integration into the culture and by daily applying the language and words you're learning. As you see the video with the "no-english rule", you'll definitely become a master within a short while, also dependent on which language you choose of course:) good reply anyways!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66