Are we all a little Racist?

in #language6 years ago


http://villains.wikia.com/wiki/Shingen_Yashida

Growing up in North America I can say many living here (NOT EVERYONE) are slightly conceded, slightly haughty, completely ignorant of history and culture, and perhaps racist even though we do not wish to admit it.

Racism is terrible and should never be condoned. So why is it that we mock different accents from different countries? I have always wondered if others around the world mock English accents. It's more than possible that other races and cultures are just the same. I went to an elementary school with very rich Asian immigrants. I remember learning some Cantonese, and I would regularly be told, "F**k you Gweilo"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gweilo

I also happened to learn:

"Lay ho ma"

"diu lay lo mo"
https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=diu%20lay%20lo%20mo

Perhaps not a great education in future negotiation.. but it's what I learned.

Then in High school there were may Jamaican immigrants who would go around and call me:

"Batty Boi"
https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=batty%20boi

"Bumbaclot Mon"
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/bumbaclot

I didn't have GOOGLE translate back then, so to my surprise I was so culturally rich in knowing insults. Luckily one of my best friends (later in life) is Jamaican. He explained what a "Bumbaclot Mon" was - yikes

So us as being human, it's more than likely the Whitey's are mocked just as much.

I also was a big comic book fan, and would regularly read Wolverine. Printed in it I would regularly read his adventures in Japan, and the 'hand' which was a Japanese crime syndicate which would often refer to Wolverine as "Gaijin Dog". Perhaps that was what was written in by the North American writers, or perhaps there was some truth to it.







I love Toronto.. it's so culturally RICH ;)

Sort:  

Heh! Did we go to the same school?! I knew a few Cantonese and Mandarin swears before I really knew any good words of Torah too. Working on fixing that...

As if hatred has a monopoly...

probably not the same school.. but never know ;) that's a discord discussion.

I think we're all a little racist. May not be right but it's a natural instinct of everyone. Again it may not be right but on the flip side political correctness often is used to silence speech. And that extreme is even worse. Perhaps there is no in between. Thanks @bearbear613. PS. Reminds me a little bit of that song from Avenue Q called everyone's a little racist

Having lived in Central America, there's for sure racism there anyway. "Dumb Gringos" etc.. was something I heard all the time. And I can remember in high school some my friends from India and Pakistan made fun of other kids from India and Pakistan who had darker skin.

What's The Real Identity Of An African-American?

Hello! I think there is racism everywhere, maybe in some countries more than in others. It has always seemed absurd to discriminate against another person for any reason, because the fate of the countries is uncertain, and you never know when you will have to go to the country that you have discriminated against. Life goes around a lot and it is best to get along with everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76