My Wordle pointless diversion of the day.

in #language2 years ago

image.png

I have discovered Wordle, which a lot of people have been talking about.

I'm late as usual.

For what it's worth, I have a strange ability to rearrange letters to form words: I could see, on a test, that the letters STIALBINIAE could form INSATIABLE and BANALITIES, and did it in a few seconds, without a pen and paper. And one of my strange mental habits, while driving the car, used to be to take an eight-letter word, say, ENTRAILS, and rearrange the letters to form every possible word of 8, 7, 6 letters, et cetera, assigning point values to each (40 for 8, 25 for 7, 15 for 6, 10 for 5, 6 for 4, 3 for 3, 2 for 2, and 1 for 1) according to how many letters were in the word, with the total representing the total value of the initial word....

Anyhow, yesterday's Wordle for me went like this:

SLATE
RHINO
DUMPY
BADGE*

The idea, I think, is to give two (possibly three) words with all different letters, covering four (or five or six) vowels and six (or nine or ten) of the most common consonants, subject to adjustment according to the information that the puzzle provides. I put in SLATE, and was told that A was in the word, and that E was at the end. Good. Then I put in RHINO and DUMPY, and learned that none of the letters in RHINO was in the word, and that D was in the word, but none of the other letters.

At that point, I had ----E, with D and A in the word. The answer to the puzzle could be only BADGE or CADGE. For the A had to come second, not first. If first, then you'd have to have three consonants between A and E, and that would require an L or an R, but those were ruled out. The two consonants coming between A and E could only be DG, because R and L and N and S and T and H were all ruled out. So it had to be -ADGE. Ergo ...

As I say, pointless .... but a diversion ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43