The "F" word?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #language7 years ago

Fug you! Just kidding, lol..
I got curious about the etymology of the word fuck and discovered that in my search.

The word "fuck" and the word "god" are both similarly unknown in their origins or true meaning.
To be straight forward, the TRUE first original meaning of most words is probably unknown outside of some newer examples.
Yet.. I just got a little curious and looked into the word, and.. People don't really know where it originated from.
Perhaps German. Surprisingly it was taboo and.. Not in an English dictionary all the way from "1795 to 1965".

Fuck definitely is an interesting word though! We use it to describe so many different things these days. Lol..
Also I found this hilarious.. Apparently the term flying fluck originated from people having sex on horses! Hahahahahahaha.

"Flying fuck originally meant "sex had on horseback" and is first attested c. 1800 in broadside ballad "New Feats of Horsemanship.""

extra_large_WTICHER_3.jpg

PS trying to find an image for this article was.. A disturbing and hilarious journey.

Sort:  

when I was in school my medical terminology teacher told us that it was used in courts concerning rape, Fornicating Unlawfully w/o carnal knowledge...Its funny you posted this I literally just looked into it again yesterday....#synchronicities appreciate your take on it.

Hmm.. Interesting. And.. Always nice to see a fellow language researcher out there! Thanks for the thoughtful response and for appreciating! :)

The Witcher is FUKING awesome🙃

Word! Looks like a fun game. I've been listening to the sound track sometimes and it shows peoples of the game and I'd probably enjoy it. Though I admit I haven't played it, lol.. So why do I listen to the soundtrack? I've been listening to other video game soundtracks and movie soundtracks on YouTube and discovered it and it has some great music!

It does!
Once when I played the game there was a quest with a lady singer with an amazing voice. After completing it I went straight to google to check who was the voice actor.
You should definitely try this game out. I think its one of the best ones I played if not the best.

I don't know if it's true or not, but I once heard it was shorthand for Fornication Under the Crown King - and represents the idea that - just as the idea that in most places, people dont actually OWN their land, they are simply holding a deed to title - same goes for sex and marriage. As in - you can get married and have sex under the King's (state's) permission but at any time the King (state) could come and seize your land, and your wife. Not a right, but a privilege...
Interesting thought, true or not.

If you have never heard it - - f-word wav - - - https://archive.org/details/JackWagnerattr.MontyPythontheWordFuck

Pretty funny.

it is funny..but anyway there are things to be taken into consideration..normally we don't pay much attention on the word origin..but after reading this i found it to be really interesting..thanks for sharing this knowledge with us

You're welcome! Glad you found it interesting. :)

Lol, congrats to you on your image search for this one! But it is interesting how we use the word to describe a multitude of different meanings.

Merry Christmas❤❤

merry christmas

My life turned around this game! 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64316.24
ETH 2748.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65