sunny days on the peninsula!

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Sunshine down on the Antarctic peninsula is never a guarantee even in the summer time but when you get a partly cloudless sunny ski then the a stunning beauty is revealed. When you wake up, step outside onto the outer decks and are greeted by a sight such as this, then you know that it is going to be a great day of excursions!

This was our first day on the peninsula back in November, when we entered an area called Cuverville Island to explore the Gentoo Penguin nesting colony and to zodiac cruise in the area surrounding it to see what type of animals we would encounter. Personally, I couldn't believe it was November, as this type of weather isn't exactly typical for that time of year and felt more like it was January. Doesn't bother me at all though, I will take this type of weather and thoroughly enjoy it when I am down in southern ocean - I have had to operate zodiacs in blizzards with over 30knots of wind before - so having some sunshine and calm seas is something I never take for granted and am always grateful for.


IMG_9641-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Wow, Thomas!

That's even better than 50 Shades of Blue!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71