Hiking in Yosemite National Park

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Yosemite National Park, California
_MG_0208_01.jpg
(For better image quality, click to enlarge any image)

A month or two ago, before the California wildfires closed the park, I spent two days traveling through Yosemite National Park. I was well into California on my road trip from Oregon to New Jersey when my partner and I decided that we'd be close enough to Yosemite to take a detour and spend a few days in the park. This last minute decision turned out to be the perfect way to spend two days.

Yosemite runs along the central western border of the state and offers views of rugged mountains and dry forests. This landscape greatly contrasts the sun-bleached oceanside towns that come to mind at the mention of California and helps convey the geological variation throughout the state.

I hadn't seen too many pictures of Yosemite before we arrived so I was immediately struck by the vastness of the terrain. When driving through the mountains to enter the park, the elevation gain is so intense that signs recommend drivers turn off their air conditioning during their accent so their car won't overheat. Once atop these mountains though, the view is spectacular. The mountain range stretches for miles in every direction and the sharp edges of the cliffs create a beautiful sense of desolation.

The picture above was taken just on a pull off along the road and conveys just how submersed in nature you feel while driving through the park.

The Hike

The main hike my partner and I did was a few miles up a mountain to a lake. We prioritized driving through the park to see the main attractions (The Half Dome, El Capitan, etc.) so we weren't left with too much extra time for our hike. Thus, we ended up take about two or three hours to see this lake which was recommended to us by a park ranger.

The hike started in a parking lot mid way up the mountain and required driving on a secluded dirt road, which could easily be missed if you didn't know it was there. This meant the trail had far fewer hikers and made for a more isolated hiking experience.

Just outside the parking lot we came across a pond, which reflected the surrounding area beautifully.

_MG_0205_01.jpg

This was a really nice start to the hike and the rest did not disappoint. The trail snaked up the side of the mountain with moderate tree cover, which was really nice since the heat from the sun is pretty intense in this part of the country. Eventually though, we broke tree cover and had some fantastic views of the surrounding mountains.

_MG_0201.jpg

All along the trails are these lovely mountain flowers, which add nice spots of color to the predominantly grey landscape.

Eventually, we made it to the top of the mountain where the trail ends and you can explore the lake.

_MG_0175.jpg

From here you are welcome to wonder around the lake (although you're asked not to swim). We walked along the water's edge for a little while and took some more pictures along the way.

_MG_0184.jpg

I felt this photo captured the scale of the mountain's peak which towers above you as you circle the lake.

_MG_0188.jpg

I love the way the dead wood looks in this part of the country. The dryness of the air has warped and twisted the wood and the sun has bleached it white.

After some time at the lake we heard thunder in the distance and decided to head back to our car. The route was an out and back and it was threatening to rain so I stopped taking pictures on the return journey.

The way back

We were staying in Mammoth Lakes, which is about 40 minutes outside the park, so we planned to leave around sun down. In the late afternoon we pulled off the road and walked through a meadow. We hadn't seen very much wildlife at this point but in the meadow we came across a friendly elk. It seemed pretty accustom to humans and I was able to follow it and get a fairly good picture despite not having a zoom lens on me.

IMG_0235.jpg

We hung out in the meadow for a little while and decided to leave as the sun was getting low in the sky. The drive out of the park requires you to go over some mountains, which meant we ended up with a spectacular view of the sunset. We pulled over and took a few more pictures and watched the sun set over the mountains.

IMG_0143_01.jpg

We had an excellent time here and I would definitely recommend a visit to anyone in the area. It's the kind of place were you can spend a day or month and have a great time. There are tons of hikes and lots to see.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hi @spc,

Love the stunning photos of such a majestic place. I think my favorite is photo #2. I am always a sucker for photos that make good use of reflections, and that one is amazing.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Saturday evening (U.S. time, about 12-18 hours from now.) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Hi Gene,
I'm thrilled about the opportunity to be featured in the Author Showcase and I really appreciate the support from @curie and all of its curators. Everyone involved in curie makes steemit a much more rewarding experience, so I just wanted to thank you for your time and effort.

As for a statement, you're welcome to use any or all of the following:

Steemit has been a significant motivating factor in my efforts to develop as a photographer, writer, and artist. Seeing the conglomeration of talented artists and photographers on this platform creates a daily push for me to improve my work and create more often.

While in this post and many of my others the focus is photography and travel, my true passion is glassblowing. I mention this here because through this showcase I hope to reach other Steemit users enthusiastic about glass and glassblowing. The glassblowing community is relatively small when compared with the other arts but I'd love to see it grow on this platform and to see the same daily pushes I see from glass artists.

This said, I will continue posting about all my different interests and for those who enjoy following my travels I'm leaving for Ireland next week, so stay tuned!

-Thanks again Gene,
spc

This is a gorgeous travel post @spc. I'm glad you're back and pinning them to SWM. Your photos are stunning as per usual. Makes me want to go there.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate you keeping me on your radar and supporting my content. SWM is an awesome project and I'm glad to be apart of it.

Hi spc,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Amazing pictures! I'd love to hike overnight through a national park, must be a great experience :)

It was really wonderful to be there! I didn't actually overnight hike while I was there (we didn't have enough time unfortunately), we stayed in a hostel in Mammoth Lakes, but Yosemite is really best explored with backpacking trips. A lot of the park is only accessible by hiking trails and you can see much more that way.

These pictures are gorgeous. Hopefully, we get to see more of these. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much! I'll be putting up a post from my trip to Arches National Park, Utah, soon.

Hello this photos looks beautiful you must had a great time there. I love the cloudy sky as well it had a little something to your photos.

Thank you! We totally lucked out with the weather. The clouds definitely make for a more interesting shot and the shade helps keep the colors from getting too washed out.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-17T16:50:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 803.89/1600.00
Total Photos: 69
Total comments: 51
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=spc
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hiking-in-yosemite-national-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great shot from a beautiful area. Must be fun to hiking in Yosemite national park.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yosemite and the Redwoods national forest are probably my favorite California hikes, I strongly recommend them if you make it to that part of the United States.

I would love to hike there, but I am living in Norway and do most of my hikes there, but fun to see pictures from other part of the world.

Norway looks like a beautiful country from what I've seen and I'd love to visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45