Hunting Kona Treasures

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

My first solo adventure

So my friend let me keep her Jeep after taking off for Maui, and I decided to do what she recommended. Jump off the cliff of the southern most point in the US. I got there and I took a wrong turn. Apparently there was a green sand beach there too. The road became more and more undone and I decided that I would walk the rest of the way. Don't wanna damage the rental Jeep in the middle of no where :p I had no idea how long the walk would be but it was a good thing I brought my running shoes!

IMG_0086.JPG

Border (1).png

The breeze was so amazing, but the sun was super blazing. I had a little bit of water left but that didn't stop me from my adventure. I had decided to practice my Hawaiian healing chants that I learned in Lomi Lomi school, and it made me more appreciative and connected to the land and nature.

IMG_0090.JPG

Border (1).png

After about an hour and a half and a bunch of lazy people in their Jeeps, I finally could see the green sands! I remember I was feeling a bit sad, a bit of a small side story, but I saw signs of a missing dog named Pulu in town. And I saw him while I was driving down to the cliff jump. I tried to give him some water but he kept running from me. So I called the police and I went on my way.

IMG_0096.JPG

The beach was filled with people, so I sat there for like two minutes, and decided to run away. And then I found a quiet spot on the cliff side to hang for a bit.

IMG_0093.JPG

It was almost time to return the rental Jeep, so I ended up running back to the car. I spent about half an hour running back (the drive back to the airport was about 2 hours away I think). I saw Pulu again!! This time he came and got some water, but he wouldn't get in my car. I spent almost half an hour walking on sharp lava rocks trying to save Pulu until I realized I had a car to return. I saw another sign and called his parents and told him where I saw him. I hope they found him. Poor guy. I felt lonely when my friend left for another island, and this was the first time I had decided to have a solo adventure. The day filled up with amazing little stories and experiences that gave my loneliness a chance to grow into self love.

Border (1).png

I hope adventure calls on you too! :)

Sort:  

That's cool! We missed out on the green beach so I'm glad we got to see it thanks to you! We took the rental Jeep up to a certain way and then we found it was way to bumpy and did not want to make any damage to it either.
We were short on time though so we gave up on the walk as we knew in advance it was a good 1h30. Sometimes you have to give up and you can't see everything!
That's why we consume so much travel blogs then !

That's very true! I hope that you get more chances to go back to Kona! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poodai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is a nice place you have here. Looks like you're doing pretty good for. I stopped by because you followed me and I wanted to check out your place. I also wanted to take time to thank you for following me. I tried to take time to thank everybody who follows me personally as they do. Because I believe that every person matters. So thank you so much for that. I hope you have a wonderful day and that I'll see you around.

Thank you for visiting :) getting to know everyone that follows you is important to me too. I hope you have a wonderful day as well!

wow poodai you finally starting your adventure the things you was talking before :O so it finality begins officially! damm bro

It happened a while ago :p Lots of adventures to be shared, thanks for stopping by!

Always great to read about your adventures and the circumstances one gets into once he dares to go on one.

You might have saved that family countless hours of despair!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36