A Place In The Clouds - Landscape Photography Contest Entry

I had to stop my car and get out for a couple of minutes when I noticed this sight. Sometimes you just get lucky with the view... This also shows the value of having your camera with you all the time...

I placed the tripod, mounted the ND8 filter and took a couple of shots. I used the ND8 because I wanted to make a longer exposure in order to smooth out the surface.

This one had the most balanced exposure so I kept it and did some postproduction.

It was taken in a small coastal town Nin, in Croatia.

20180515-_NKE4614-Edit.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 50 / 2s / f13 / AS-F Nikkor 24-120mm f4G ED VR @ 24mm

I think I will definitely recycle this image when I find a suitable B&W contest for it :)

This time it's an entry for the #landscapephotography contest, hosted by @juliank.

Hope you like it.

Cheers,
Nino.

Sort:  

I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!

To further support your work I featured a photo from this post in Photofriend's Favorites#11!

@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism. https://discord.gg/qtbFfkp

Thank you dear #photofriend :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T17:04:45
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1553.61/1600.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 23
And have also received a 0.76 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Amazing shot! i like the reflection and those clouds.

Yeah, you can flip it upside down and it would be almost the same... :)

Amazing shot... monomad's Sunday Skies comes to mind. First place right there!! : )

Yes, that's what I was thinking also :)

For starters anyway... : )
I love it when you're in the right place at the right time. I've never done a long exposure through the day (unless I'm in a dark rainforest) but I would like to, I need to get some filters, I don't have any. Is there a good one you can recommend for long exposures through the day?

I use Hoya ND8 filter.
Sometimes I combine it with the Hoya CPL (Circular polariser), because the CPL adds additional 2 stops down...
I haven't used any other filters so far, so I couldn't compare them to anything. But, these work very well for me...

Okay thanks, that's good to know. I'll check them out, I really appreciate that!

You got a 3.95% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @nkera!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50