You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From My Latest Photography Adventure Above Lake Tahoe - Milky Way Shot (and a video)

Holy moly, my friend!
Looking at that amazing galaxy I can think of just one thing: Theres no way we are alone in this universe.

Any tips on taking a photo of the sky with a cheaper camera? Mine is a 'point and shoot' one =s

Sort:  

It's pretty incredible when the moon sets and all of a sudden the stars look brighter. I'll have to agree with you.

So, if you can set your ISO to a high setting like 2000 or even higher, that can help. You will also need to be able to attach the camera to a tripod and get a long exposure (around 10-20 seconds long). The aperture setting is where you might run into trouble depending on the quality of the lens on the camera. Try to go as wide open as possible (I was at f2.8). Use the self-timer so the camera doesn't shake due to the pressing of the shutter button. Photoshop's (or Lightroom's) clarity and dehaze features can help bring out the Milky Way more. I like to make those changes via the Adjustment Brush so you can adjust just the Milky Way and maybe the rest of the stars.

I hope that helps a bit!

Helps a lot, for sure!
The only big problem is that, from all the options I can change, the aperture is the only one automatic =s or if I set a high iso it dends to blur a lot.
Guess I'll have to find a better camera hahahaha.
But hey, thanks for taking your time. Now I know for when I borrow my brother's camera.

Yeah, a nice dslr makes these kind of shots a lot more doable. Some point and shoots have more manual features, bummer your's doesn't. But lucky you that your brother lets you borrow his camera, I'm not that nice, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47