Bamboo Forest - Meditation while walking

A delightful balance of traditional Japanese culture and the modern age, Kyoto would have to be my favourite place in Japan. One of the many sites to see in Kyoto is the Bamboo Forest in Arashiyama. When I first visited this place I felt like just another tourist. There were so many people walking the path it was hard to appreciate the beauty of such a magical place.

I returned another day only to feel dismayed at the sight of just as many people as the time before. I checked my map to see what else was in the area and noticed a second section of the forest, not connected to the main one. It was only 50m away but the lack of continuation kept all but a few people from being there during sunset. I was lucky enough to capture some images without any people. More importantly, I was able to appreciate the tranquillity of the Bamboo Grove. The delicated filaments of golden light from the setting sun, the hollow sounds of bamboo shafts tapping together in the gentle breeze, an environment perfect for worries and stress to be carried away with the wind.

Bamboo-Forest.jpg

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
60mm
F13
1/2sec
ISO100


Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Beautiful stuff as always man!
We're posting this on the @photofeed blog. Congrats!

Such a beautiful place. Keep it up mate; Steemit is better with you here ;-)

Thanks, Rob! I'm officially a week old :D

Yes well I am an old hat at this now after 4 weeks lol

owasome pict....👌

This ia an awesome shot, nice discovery :)

Thanks a bunch!

Awesome shot !! After viewing image in full screen I'm really impressed with the details ;)

What lens did you use?

Thanks! Just a Canon 24-105mm F4 at 60mm

Amazing! I've already seen dozens of photos from Kyoto but this one is definitely one of the bests.

Thanks so much!

So beautiful, love the wide-angle vert composition. You killed this!

Thanks heaps! I wanted to convey the height of the bamboo :)

This photo is amazing. Same place too. Thank you.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13