Smoky Mountain View

Wenatchee National Forest, Washington. While driving across Washington heading for the coast last year I spent the night camping by Kachess Lake. In the morning I did a little exploring before heading on down the road, and this is one of the sights I came across. While it may look like a foggy morning in the mountains, its actually smoke from all the wildfires that were afflicting the area at the time (the sky had a nice glow to it the night before from the fire raging a couple ridges away).

morningmountainb&w.jpg

Sort:  

That's a nice shot - we headed down to Crater Lake last summer and got chased out by the fires. We ended up in Hood River which was awesome and planned to cut through Rainier on the way back. But then the fires spun up there too and we ended up aborting the trip and taking the 5 back home.

They fires are terribly destructive, but they create some amazing light.

That they do, makes for some amazing sunsets and some obnoxious haze. It seemed like everywhere I went, from Wyoming to the coast was on fire there for a bit last summer. I wanted to hit Rainier and the Hood River area on my way south but they were still on fire. I thought I was getting lucky in getting to go to Crater Lake right after they reopened it but it was snowing so hard visibility was only about 20 feet, I managed a glimpse of a small piece of the lake for all of about 5 minutes. Ah, Mother Nature. . .

Nice! When did you make this photo? I was out in Washington/Oregon last summer as well, and I wonder if it was the same fire. :)

Thanks! That was taken on Labor Day I believe. Which parts of Washington/Oregon did you visit?

Ah! Yes, we were roaming between Bend, OR, and Olympia WA, then through eastern Washington and Oregon.

Nice. I picked up the 101 in Olympia, spent a couple weeks along it, then cut over to Crater Lake just in time to get snowed on.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-19T23:20:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 162.50/200.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

These layers are so nice. Resteemed!

Stunning photography!

Beautiful shot, man. Those gray layers are amazing.

Thank you sir! Honestly, I got lucky. I'd set out that day to find a waterfall I'd heard about and came across this instead.

haha, well I'm glad everything work anyways.

Amazing shot....just discovered your blog and it's awesome, following you ;)

Thank you! Followed you as well

damn, i love your style!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85