In Ansel Adams footsteps

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

While exploring Grand Teton National Park I happened upon an overlook which turned out to be where Ansel Adams took his famed The Tetons and the Snake River in 1942 (Ansel Adams is one of my favorite photographers and sources of inspiration). Ordinarily I try to avoid imitating the work of others but in this case thought it would make for a great souvenir (I was road tripping so most of my souvenirs were either photos or maps).

tetonsnakebssmall.jpg

75 years passed between the two shots and near as I can tell, the trees getting taller has been the only change (It was summer so the snow gets a pass).

tetonsign.jpg

National Park Service sign at the overlook

Just getting to see and shoot that was a real treat, I hope y'all enjoy!!

Sort:  

Great shot. I love the Teton (so much) and love this pull out. I took one just like it.

Thanks! The Tetons are amazing. Hopefully there was less haze for you than there was when I was there.

.

I was there at the beginning of October so the trees were changing colors and it was snowing. Magical!

Wow, thats amazing. I was there at the end of August so wildfire season was in full swing.

Thanks. My new goal is to get there in every season. I have been there in May and October. So I need summer and winter.

Good luck! Seeing all the different seasons would be awesome. Don't know if I could tolerate the winter's cold there though...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-29T02:11:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 208.00/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!

To further support your work I featured a photo from this post in Photofriend's Favorites #12 (Special edition!)!

@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39