Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary, Cuso, Peru

in #landscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

This place does amazing work with recuperating injured wildlife, and animals rescued from poachers and hunters, so being an avid lover of animals, strictly in the platonic sense of course :) I simply had to stop off at the Ccochahuasi Animal Sanctuary on the way back to Cusco, from Pisac.

It’s quite a large area and a lot of the residents have free roam of the place. The only animals that are caged are ones that would pose a threat to the other animals and visiting tourists.

The title photo above is of a wild condor, perhaps visiting a recuperating friend, who was sitting on the roof of the workers hut. Naturally, I grabbed my camera to take a pic. Then to my amazement, he stretched out his wings, jumped off the roof, plummeted a couple of feet, then soared above in a Top Gun style fly by. Note the look on the workers face, as this majestic bird flew right over him. By the time he reached me, he already had good elevation, but I could still feel the wind from his fly by. His wingspan must have been at least 3 metres (10 feet)wide.


Recuperating Condor


Free Range Condor


Another free range condor, keeping a watchful eye on the precedings below


Andean Mountain Cat
These guys are slightly larger than a really big domestic cat. They are so gorgeous that you would definitely want to take one home. The only problem with that though is that they would probably kill you and eat you while you sleep.



Puma
Whilst in Pisac, noticing the proliferation of Eucalyptus trees, I mentioned to my Shaman friend that Koalas are on the endangered species list in Australia (Koalas subsist on a strict diet of only Eucalyptus leaves), and maybe Australia could export a few to Peru. Joey just looked at me and said, no. All that would happen is they’d go extinct even quicker and the Puma population would quadruple ^^



This adorable little fellow had been rescued, sedated, from an airline passengers suitcase.


Parrots




Well, that's my selection for today folks. If you enjoyed these photos, be sure to check out my previous posts, and follow me, to see my daily selections.
Tomorrow I'll be uploading my selection of photos, with running commentary, from one of the most amazing places I’ve ever been to. Sacsayhuaman, near Cusco, Peru.
Peace.

Sort:  

They are doing great work helping the animals. Thanks for sharing it's great to see the different animals over there.

Yeh man, they are doing amazing work, and you can tell from the staff too, it's not just a job for them.
Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35