When I decided to break the chains

in #ladiessteemroom6 years ago

hands and chains.PNG

Boop. Thank you for calling, this is Kendra, how may I assist you! I know this greeting owe too well as I have said it day after day since 9/2015. Yep 9/2015. What started as a quick job on the side because I was pregnant with my first child, turned into complacency and being caught in the same routine day in and day out. Did the job pay the bills? Yes it did. Did it allow me time to take off when needed? Um. sometimes. Did I enjoy the work I did? No way.

It got to the point I dreaded hearing the beeping noise in my ear to take another call. I had to come to a place where I stopped complaining about what I was unhappy about or the things that frustrated me about my job. That is just what it was, my job. It served its purpose and not it was time for me to start serving mine.

I love and have a deep passion for blockchain and cryptocurrency. I went down the rabbit hole in 2016 and have stayed there ever since. I cannot get enough of it. I was so intrigued, I wanted to bring awareness to all women that I could as I saw this was a time of change. The more I was in the space, the more people I met, and the more I saw a space for me to be whatever it was that I wanted to be. There are no limitations in crypto and blockchain.

So, I started promoted blockchain and cryptocurrency to everyone, especially women. I created a Facebook group called Women In Cryptocurrency, with the thought of each of us coming together to teach more women about this new disruption in time. That's when it hit me. I was preaching freedom, but was still locked up. I was still stuck to the ball and chain and allowing my life to be dictated by a time set to come in and take phone calls. These phone calls did not further me in my personal life or my career. So why I still making a, "For the time being." job my career?

jail.PNG

I made the decision to use my get out of jail free card. I broke the chains and opened the door for endless opportunities. I am taking coding classes to learn python and full stack. I have a new team of individuals that have been extremely supportive of my decision and are helping to keep me encouraged along the way while providing me with the tools of success. It came to a point where I could no longer complain about the situation I was in, I was only in it because I allowed myself to be in it. No more will I be a slave to the norm or to what is easy and the most walked path. This is my path, I don's know what the future may hold, but I am certain that whatever it is, it is for me.

Hopefully I have inspired someone who is teetering on the fence of making a big life changing decision. Change is necessary for growth. We have spent tons of time learning how to live comfortably, why not learn how to live a rich life, where your wealth comes from what you create. The lesson I have taken with me daily is that I can only be 100 percent Kendra, anything else I try to be, I will always come up short.

broken.PNG

Be encouraged Ladies.

Sort:  

This is so inspiring Kendra!! Go You!!!! I myself realized this very same thing. I preached to others "anything is possible!! go do it!!" yet I found I wasn't applying this to my life. When I looked in, I didn't believe anything was possible for me. Life changing, thank you for this reminder and inspiring story. I can't wait to follow your journey into the next chapters and beyond!

Ma'am you could never come up short!

I am really looking forward to talking to you on Facebook tomorrow Kendra!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03