BUYING SECONDHAND FOR A YEAR (MOSTLY)

in #ladiesofsteemit7 years ago (edited)

A lasting home, a lasting closet— what I mean by (mostly) only second hand things for my home and closet.

Firstly, thank you all so much for the votes and comments on my posts about buying secondhand! I got a lovely comment from @ameliabartlett about how we make decisions when we are buying new. And great timing, because I have a lot of ideas about that! I've been saying (mostly) in this series, because I know that there's a lot of habit making and learning to do with this kind of lifestyle.

steem portland blog.JPG

With that said, I'm also aware enough to trust myself to make meaningful new item purchases. My degree is in apparel design and merchandizing— where I learned all about the global supply chain in relation to apparel and textiles. I also have had the privilege through my job to travel and document the creation of an organic cotton item from farm to finished product in Peru. I guess what I'm saying here is that this is a very small briefed version of my thoughts on this topic, and plan to talk about it more!

Here's my listicle on things to keep in mind. I'd love you to comment down below other things you look for, or any resources on where to find smaller sustainable and ethically focused brands!

Is the item or brand mass produced? Aim for brands that make their items on a smaller scale. This is typically associated with production standards that lean towards less output of harmful substances because it wasn't made to then ship off to millions of different people in thousands of different locations.

Can the brand show and tell where the items are produced? Look for brands that share all about how they source and produce the products they sell. Trust through transparency ✨

How is the item made? Sometimes handmade qualities can make or break an item. For example: textiles and home furnishings. The unique detail and love you feel from handmade pieces can bring so much more life into your things, it makes such a big difference.

What is the item made of? Depending on the product, items made from naturally occurring substances, and that also avoid non-natural substances are always better for the environment. For example, a dress made out of organic cotton has a lower environmental impact to the earth than a polyester. A couple reasons being: harmful chemicals weren't used in the cotton farming process, and if that dress does somehow make it to the dumpster, it biodegrades must faster than a synthetic fabric.

Where is it made? Firstly, I'd like to say that It's a complete misconception that "made in China" means bad, and "Made in the USA" is good. China is well equipped to manufacture for many industries because of the technology that they've invested in to grow that industry there. The US just isn't as well equipped and often times if it does have a Made in USA label, the entirety of the garment isn't. Which means the environmental impact is actually greater because materials are being sourced from outside and the production looks more like a family tree than vertical.

The more vertical, the better. The closer the materials, production, makers, sellers and buyers are to each other— the better. So, buy local. From local makers, farmers, local businesses. Supporting small businesses in your local economy can affect a lot of positive outcomes globally.

Who do they employ, what do they stand for? Look for inclusivity in the way they both employ for their company, but also how they represent their brand in marketing. It matters.

My favorite brand that does all of the above and more: Everlane.

tayler worrell portland everlane.jpeg

These are all things I strive to look for in brands that I'm purchasing a new item from. Because I know that secondhand for a whole year is going to be challenging, and I know there will be times here and there when I stray and I wanted to share how I shop non-thrifted!

There is so so much to add to this listicle, and topic in general. Wold love to hear what you look for in brands!

#alastingcloset #ayearthrifted #steemitstyle #creativecrypto

Sort:  

in our country we love second hand some id from ukay ukay
affordable and quality

Thanks a lot for your helpful tips!

Such a great idea to buy second hand; pity society pushes us in the other direction constantly.

@taylerworrell you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @taylerworrell! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @taylerworrell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27