AN ODE TO (OVERPRICED-BUT-NOT) VINTAGE LEVI'S

in #ladiesofsteemit7 years ago (edited)

A lasting closet— buying (mostly) only second hand things for my wardrobe for one year.

Winter of 2017 and what seemed like the most approachable alternative to skinny jeans became in-style and... accessible. Sort of. vintage levis jeans.JPG photos by Boone Rodriguez.

Levi's. A good ol' pair of well worn washed out Levi's. Most notably, Levi's 501's. It gave all of us ladies with a less trendy rear, an more trendy rear in all its wedgie magic. Wedgies are in!

So, on my search I go. Goodwill, really being the only place I looked. After several unsuccessful trips, I just couldn't find a single pair that actually fit my bod. So, one fine day here in #PDX my partner and I stroll into House of Vintage here in Portland, Oregon and I pile maybe two dozen pairs of Levi's in the dressing room that seem like they might fit.

One pair. One pair fit me. A pair of Levi's 505's in a size 30. This pair, along with most others I tried on were (in my opinion) incredibly overpriced between $50-$75. And, in addition to that hefty price for a worn in pair of jeans, the ones that magically fit me, conveniently had a hole right in the crotch. Two holes, really. One on each side of the seam right at the lady parts. Cool!

thrifted fashion.JPG

In front of the dressing room mirror, just staring... I went back and forth in my head. Cuffed them because they were 4 inches past my foot, looked at myself in the mirror and committed. For no other reason I think other than I wanted to not wear skinny jeans every day and I was tired of looking. I recall these ringing in for a hefty $60. These better fricken' be worth it!... Right?

I brought the jeans home and immediately chopped them at the ankle. Then, I used that extra fabric to create patches for the crotch. I sewed in the patches in what I think is called a Sashiko technique in embroidery that you can apply to mending fabric. I placed a new piece of denim on the inside of the pant where the whole was, and stitched with my machine back and forth until the whole area was covered in rows of stitching; mending the old fabric with the new.

At the start, I wasn't so sure about how inflexible I felt in them. But, first day wearing them at work with a tee and sandals and a few people offered me compliments. So, that's great. Compliments are reassuring and make everyone feel good.

I liked the new shape it provided in silhouette. It was something new, and made all my old shoes and tops feel totally new along with it. I slowly started wearing them on the regular with mostly the same things I'd wear my skinny jeans with. They eventually molded to my body and have now become my favorite pair of pants.

vintage levis fashion.JPG
I wore them through three seasons since. Easy with sandals and a lightweight top, especially amazing with a chunky knit and oxfords. I've worn these at the very least once a week for an entire year. Some more than others depending on the temperatures, but you get it. They really get worn. A lot.

Take a peek over on my instagram story highlights @taylerworrell. I've recently been sharing outfits here and there featuring these babies.

But biggest lesson here wasn't about the jeans themselves—it was the the price, value and quality.

I was super resistent to spend that money on a piece of clothing that I thought I could have find myself at goodwill for half the price. But there's so much work that goes into curating the perfect vintage items that really is worth the price if you don't have the time to do the searching yourself, or just haven't had success finding the perfect thing your looking for.

These jeans have LASTED. I don't know what year they were made originally, but even seeing condition they've remained in after the number of times I've worn these in the single year—I know they'll last way longer that what a $60 price tag in a new item would.

vintage shopping conscious consumerism.JPG

I've slowly getting the hang of Steemit here and am so excited to connect with all of you who commented on my post about buying secondhand for an entire year. It's going to be an interesting journey. I have already faltered in my goal this February, and will write about it soon. But! It's a learning process and its all to be a more conscious consumer myself.

If you haven't already, see recent posts in this series!
how to make a profit selling second hand + reflections on my own consumerism

Let me know what else you'd like to hear about as I keep this going! If you're a vintage or secondhand shopper, what are those items that you are willing to spend extra on, even as a thrifted item?

#alastingcloset #ayearthrifted #steemitstyle #photofeed

Sort:  

Pdx needs to be renamed The City of Upcycle lol ! #teamgirlpowa approves of your mission! Ps is that you in the photos?! Shes Hawt.

It is me, thank you!! and YES! Being here in #pdx makes it super easy for me to be able to do as much thrifting as I do. Thank you, #teamgirlpowa!

Stellar post, Tayler. I love your minimal style formatting. Plus, I can commiserate/vent with you on the current denim culture. Once you get the right pair, you can have them for life! But the cost barrier of acquiring them has become almost neo-luxury... just gotta get on the thrift hunt!

Keep up the great work. I know it can be draining to publish beautiful posts like this and see no payout. Trust me, you will pick up steam (STEEM) and grow! Always cheering for you. 🎈

Thank you for your support— I super appreciate it, @ladiesofsteemit! ⭐️

Look at you! Congratulations on the Curie vote. 💯

Thank you!!!!

Nice pants! I had the same problem that I was tired of wearing skinny jeans every day. In the end I found a pair from a fair and eco collection, because the 505's were way too expensive

Thank you, @marthastardust! What eco collection was it? Would love to know and share! ⭐️

I think it only exists in Europe, maybe only Germany. It was a "vintage" collection by Esprit, but they only had very few articles.

oh yea! I've seen brands try and take ahold of the resale market... Super interesting thing to look at in business too... I might even jot that down as Steemit article idea. Thank you!

Gosh, I love Esprit... found them in Germany when I visited and I can’t bring myself to try to buy from them online/secondhand as I am not familiar enough with their fit. But their clothes are pretty fantastic.

I applaud your secondhand journey. I definitely agree that there is no way today's clothing would ever hold up as well as stuff from 20+ years ago. It is so depressing when you lose a good piece of clothing after having it for such a long time and growing so attached to it. As you said it winds up fitting your body after a while, and can take so long to break in something new, if at all again since they changed how it is made.

Great post, look forward to more.

Right? I think there will be a movement for higher quality more durable items here in the future. As more of us as consumer spend our money in the right places - I think we'll be able to make a difference in the apparel industry. Thanks for your support, @randomwanderings! ⭐️

Buying second hand is the best for so many reasons. Lately I've been trying not to buy any new clothes at all after watching a documentary about the global garment industry, and about how much pollution is caused by discarded, low-quality clothing. We just don't value clothing the way that we used to, and it's evident by the declining quality.

We really don't. And its such a battle for me too being in the apparel retail industry myself, and loving fashion and style as much as I do. But I really do think we as consumers can make such a big difference with our own environmental impact, but also affecting and influencing industries like the apparel industry to start taking action.

Thanks for reading + supporting, @malloryblythe!

Oh sorry, I didn't mean to insult your livelihood! Probably should have thought that one through before opening my mouth (or, unleashing my fingers, I guess). Though I suppose even in the retail industry you can find ways to be environmentally conscious and also careful about how you source your materials and your labor. I have a friend who makes a living by repurposing clothes she finds in bargain bins.

Anyway, I was just looking through your posts, and I really like your stuff, so I'm going to follow you. :)

Oh, no no you didn't insult at all!! That's what this series is all about for me. Even though I work in the apparel retail industry full time, I really want to take an initiative in my personal life (and side hustle) to promote things that really resonate with me— which is being kind to our earth!

Thanks for the follow 💙
xoxo

So many opportunities to impact the retail fashion industry when you’re mindful of ethical manufacturing, fair trade practices, even simply choosing companies who implement fair practice IN factories overseas (not everything from Asia is garbage or made in sweat shops), environmentally-sustainable materials, humane animal treatment, companies who reinvest profits to sustain our planet...

I’d argue it’s more important to make your new purchases based on educated decisions (which include the above understanding) than to buy secondhand exclusively. If we ever hope to change an industry, we must showcase and reward those who are upending the status quo. Especially those with influence in the market.

I totally agree! I'm glad you said that, actually. Within this series I plan to share my experience and intentions when I buy things that aren't new. How I find brands that are transparent about their practices, what I look for, etc! It is super important for the market to support the brands that ARE doing it right and I want to do what I can to support and share those companies as an example! Thanks, @ameliabartlett! 💙

I LOVE this! I own a vintage market in Chicago and I want to scream at the top of my lungs, BUY VINTAGE, real style is your own and vintage makes it harder to copy :)

Thank you! And totally agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59