KUCOIN Scam/Hacker Alert

in #kucoin6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 11.06.46 AM.png

This is to alert the community to be careful using KuCoin exchange! Yesterday while their site was having many glitches my Snovio tokens were withdrew from my account to an unknown wallet address!

Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 11.07.05 AM.png

I have 2-factor authenticator enabled on this account and I did not authorize this transaction! I have contacted Kucoin support and so far have not received any word on this matter. My tokens are GONE! I would love to know how this could happen when I have 2-factor authenticator enabled! This worries me about using the exchange. At the time I noticed my tokens were missing I also noticed other major glitches like trading pairs disappearing. I know this exchange is fairly new but I had deep confidence because the founders/creators have a lot of experience in the industry.

All in all I lost less then $50 worth of tokens from the missing tokens and exchange fees for withdrawing my other coins. I have since SOLD my Kucoin holdings withdrew ALL of my other coins to my Ledger Nano and to other exchanges I will not be using Kucoin unless they correct this issue. This is a warning to all, never take it for granted your money is safe on any exchange.

Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 11.16.33 AM.png

Please let me know if you have any information as to how/why this occurred. I have researched the wallet they went to and besides my 227 SNOV there aren't any other transactions that lead to this wallet. My coins are still sitting in a wallet I do not own keys to.

Sort:  

Wow. That's crazy! Were you using the Google Authenticator app or SMS 2FA authentication? I don't see how this could happen. Maybe the website was hacked?

Yes the website most certainly was being hacked when this occurred. I am using 2 factor, but when my coins went missing the 2 factor was not working, I was able to log in without it. I started a thread in discuss on etherscan and others commented saying their coins were stolen and went to the same token address.

There's a lot of hacking of these exchanges going on lately. Coincheck exchange in Japan got hacked for millions of dollars in NEM a few days ago. These exchanges need to get their security together. And just when I was planning on registering with KuCoin. SMH. IMO, it's more secure to store your coins in an off-line wallet. But if you're day trading or swing trading coins, it can become an inconvenience and costly to be transferring coins between off-line and exchange wallets.

Yup! I used to keep coins on exchanges for swing trades but after this I removed everything and keep my holdings in cold storage.

I had the same problem , opened a account at their site ... dropped some etherium classic into my account and then after a while i got a email that im withdrawing BTC ... WTF and 6 minuts later this is confirmed without me pressing the confirm button. And i cant log in in my account also if i change my Google 2 F in my phone by deleting it and add it again my login does not work anymore... SCAM the whole Kucoin EXCHANGE !!

26.3.2018 I was hacked. Only with my mail and pass that hacked in y computer with logger or virus on Windows 10. But I use the Android app for kucoin. And my 2fa in my phone. In 5 minutes They sell my alt and do a withdraw by 0.16b btc. In the morning When I see the mail, they do a withdraw. I try to enter to my account and the 2fa not working and I cannot enter to my account. I was hacked. When I contact to support , I unbind and bind but my fund are lose. I try to contact for it but not responding for the hacking.

I have Kucoin account but haven't used it because I find it difficult to navigate from mobile. Haven't checked Play Store if they have an app.

Its even a little cumbersome on desktop

Congratulations @blvckmoneysteeze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You should be ashamed!

STOP TROLLING! STOP MILKING THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14