You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OUR LAST VISIT TO KRUGER NATIONAL PARK

in #kruger6 years ago

Kruger_Skukuza_Rondavels.jpg
Attribution

I was last there in 1965. While I slept in a rondavel st Skukuza I was wakened by a large baboon which had hold of the bars on the window above my head and was rattling it like he would tear it off.

I sat up and looked through the mosquito mesh barrier on the window frame in terror. I was the youngest member of the primary school tour.

It is probably worthwhile mentioning to any not familiar with African wildlife that one should visit in a circumspect frame of mind.

This is what an African Elephant might do to your vehicle if you annoy it. I hope there was no one in it at the time.
DSC04003.jpg
Attribution- And original report

Adding value to some one else's article, by posting informative and interesting comments, especially on an article which will get high exposure and many votes, will get you and your comment seen.

I can show you comments which have received over $900 worth of upvotes.

This is an excellent means of attracting the attention of those who would support your good content if they saw it.

Sort:  

Thank you for your good advice ruthofisrael, I will try to learn from it.

My worst experience with Baboons was in 1973, my wife and I were traveling to Cape Town from Johannesburg by car and pulling a caravan. When we reached du Toit's Kloof (This was of course in the days before the tunnel was built. ) we decided to pull over and have lunch in the caravan. We pulled off the road and my wife told me to lay down and rest while she maked us a sandwich and tea. As you entered the caravan, it had a double bed on the left next to the door and the kitchen area was on the right. I lay smoking a cigarette until my wife said she had our sandwiches ready.I got up from the bed and put out the cigarette in an ashtray which was on the bed with my back to the door. While I was doing this I heard my wife in a very frightened voice say " Oh my God".I turned around very fast to see what was wrong and in turning I saw a HUGE Baboon standing in the caravan right next to me and in my turn I gave this huge baboon a backhand punch. As I was hitting him I realized that I was most likely making a grave mistake but the punch was already on its way and I could not stop it. Lucky for us both the baboon fell out the door of the caravan and landed on the ground on his back. I pulled the door closed as his body hit the door trying to get back into the caravan which would have been a catastrophe, his two front incisor teeth were at least 55mm long which would have caused a lot of damage. We waited quite a while before he cooled off, then threw out a banana and then waited until he moved on before we left the caravan to continue our journey.

@tigerfish...Did you change your underpants after that? I know I would have had to...

Lets just say I had more clothes in the wash than normal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42