Krispy Kremes American Daydream

in #krispykreme7 years ago

God do I love Krispy Kremes. I’ve been making my way through their menu. I must have eaten a good dozen per month. I’m surprised I’m not the size of a house! Everyone keeps asking me whether I have shares in Krispy Kreme. I do not, but what a great idea! Even better would be to open up a franchise. As soon as I say I’m going to give them a break, Krispy Kreme keep bringing out some more. So I decided to give you an in site to my Krispy Kreme palate.

Krispy Kreme - The American Daydream

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

So here we have 3 delicious looking donuts. Pecan Pie, New York Cheesecake and Rocky Road.

Pecan Pie is a ringed donut covered in maple icing with a drizzle of white chocolate flavouring sprinkled with chopped pecan nuts.

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

FullSizeRender-8.jpg

Gotta say this one is very sweet and boy do I have a sweet tooth. I do like the strong maple flavour of the maple icing but I could barely taste the white chocolate flavoured drizzle and definitely could have done with more pecans. A nice donut but quite overpowering in sweetness in my mind. I would definitely save this one until last if you are going to have more than one donut.

New York Cheesecake is Kreme cheese filled donut dipped in vanilla icing and topped off with biscuit crumb and a white chocolate flavoured drizzle.

FullSizeRender-6.jpg

FullSizeRender-5.jpg

I really like this fat filled bad boy! It has the right balance of filling to donut ratio. Not too much so it oozes all over the place and not too little where I am looking for filling with every bite. I love the flavour of the Kreme cheese. To me it tastes like vanilla cream cheese, could almost be described as vanilla ice cream with a mallowy texture. It gets stuck to my lips but what a pleasure to lick off when I’m done. The topping on this is lovely too. The icing is quite soft. It’s like a thin layer of fondant. Great flavour and the biscuity crunch is a nice touch. I can definitely taste the white chocolate drizzle on this one. Probably one of my favourite donuts out of the Krispy Kreme range.

Rocky Road is another filled donut. It’s filled with toffee and mallow. It’s dipped in chocolate icing and is topped off with a biscuit crumb and chocolate drops with a toffee drizzle.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

This donut is quite sticky as I pick it up. The toffee drizzle gets stuck to my fingers and I can’t help but push the icing off as well! Oh well, licky finger time then! The chocolate icing tastes like the one from the chocolate custard donut, maybe a bit more chocolatey. I do like the crunch, it works well with the filling. I wouldn’t call the filling mallow and toffee. The toffee is there for sure, I would say the mallow is more like a cream. I can’t really taste the mallow but the toffee is a good call. It taste like cinder toffee. They are a good combo though. Another good ratio of filling to donut with this one. All in all a good flavoured donut!

Well there we have it, my take on the American Daydream. Nice donuts all together. Next time I have these again I would start with my favourite, New York Cheesecake followed by Rocky Road and then finishing off with Pecan Pie. American Daydream? All day long!

Sort:  

These sure look tasty! A guilty pleasure! It would work best with a chocolate porter! Maybe something like this!


Image source

I have no idea what a chocolate porter is! Is it an alcoholic drink? That looks like a mini Guiness to me :-D

You can add Cacao Nibs to make your beer chocolaty! Such as these!
https://www.morebeer.com/products/tcho-cacao-nibs-4-oz.html

Ah ok, I don't drink beer. Maybe I should put them in my tea instead.

Congratulations @platinum-blue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61