Types of Discussions

in #krishna2 years ago

Recently while viewing the livestream morning program when it was class time and I saw who the speaker was, I should have known better than to listen and instead used my time in another way.
The minute they spoke, all I could see were glaring faults, rough edges, rudeness, arrogance, meanness, inconsideration. I became angry. All I could see were glaring faults.
On the other hand I could accept that the person is trying to serve and is bound to have some shortcomings, but after all they are trying to serve. Still it was so abrasive to hear his nastiness. When it was time for questions and discussion it was even worse. Instead of looking for opportunities to exchange and share he took a question as a challenge and didn't let the person even finish with their comment or question, shutting the exchange down in order to keep his perceived position of "supreme authority" intact. Devotees tried to communicate but it was a stone wall.
I was reminded of the three types of discussion described by Rupa goswami:

  1. A contest to see who is the most knowledgeable and thereby the winner. More or less a debate.
  2. A contest where it doesn't matter who is right or wrong just who can overpower, shout-down or intimidate others in order to be the winner.
  3. No contest. Simply to try to find the Truth in the present moment together.
    The first two types of discussions (contests) are rejected. The third is type of sharing realizations is accepted by Rupa Goswami.
    Next time this person ascends the vyasasana I'll turn the sound off and chant or read.

n.jpg

Not exactly the mood of Pariksit maharaja and Sukadeva goswami.
b.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77