My Beautiful Korea. Korean Cuisine No 6

in #kr7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I hope you have been well and enjoying the glorious summer ?
Unfortunately the summer is the worst time to visit Korea( in my opinion) because of the heat which can go up to 38 degrees. I haven't had a proper Korean summer for more than 10 years now and Im not missing it.
Korean summers mean no sleep during the night because its too hot.

Are you ready for another Korean travel story ??

As I explained in the previous blog, Korea has very distinctive four seasons and so does the food too.
The delicious seasonal food is very important for Koreans in order to get over the extreme temperature.
aka Summer = cold noodles, Winter = stew, Spring = greeneries, Autumn= everything is delicious.
There is an old saying that heat should be treated with heat. This means, get over the hot summer by eating hot (temperature) food.
I don't believe it.
I eat cold food when I feel hot.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-50_67.jpeg

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-48_96.jpeg

This is called Pat-being-su. Pat means azuki bean and being-su means grated ice.
Its normally made with finely grated ice with azuki bean paste (Pat), rice cake, jelly and lots of condensed milk.
What I had was roasted bean being-su. Its very nutty and sweet.
Its quite messy to eat but doesn't harm anyone.

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-48_24.jpeg

Korean style pizza !
This is one of my favourite foods in Korea. I missed it very much.
Pizza is flavoured with a sweet potato paste (yellow paste next to the crust) and prawns.
Its nicely sweet, salty and cheesy all together.
When you visit Korea, make sure you taste the "rich gold pizza".

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-39_64.jpeg

If you read my previous blog then you will remember my neighbour who threw a BBQ party for me.
This was another occasion where I was spoiled rotten by them.
Well they are more than neighbours. Actually they are my family friends.
We went to a restaurant which is well known for Gondre ( a type of dried leaf) rice meal.
As you see in the pic, the restaurant presented the meal beautifully in traditional tableware.
Its a very healthy meal and delicious !

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-40_46.jpeg

Kimbap is a Korean style seaweed roll.
My mom was very keen to make this kimbap for a few days and finally she made it.
I personally think Kimbap is a very nutrious food packed with lots of carbs, protein ( eggs and tuna) and fat( sesame oil).
Yum !

KakaoTalk_Photo_2017-06-24-17-55-42_78.jpeg

Would you call it a hotdog or a corn dog???
I know its called a corndog in America but in Korea we call it a hot dog.
Its a deep fried sausage stick with crispy coated corn batter.
Its right up to my alley!

I hope you are hungry by now.

See you next time

So long x

Sort:  

Fair bit of effort went into this post so upvoted. Mine isn't worth much, but every little helps.

Hi @craig2911 Thank you so much for upvoting my blog ! I hope to see you soon again and I followed you :)

No problem. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65