[Bar_Seoul] OX bar, Speak-easy & dining bar in Hannam-dong 한남동 옥스바

in #kr7 years ago (edited)


 
 
 
For the last 5-7 years, there has been a rapid growth in the number of speak-easy bars in Seoul. It has grown around the certain areas in Seoul, mainly Chungdam-dong, Hannam-dong, Gwanghwamun and Hongdae.

OX bar is located in one of these area, Hannam-dong. OX bar is not a just speak-easy bar but more like a dining bar where high-quality aging steak is served. The CEO of this bar is the same person as that of Big Blue bar in Gwanghwamun, and he has been serving this aging steak since he opened Big Blue in Hongdae many years ago. The aging room that greets me from the entrance tells they have a pride of the steak. I visited here late night after having dinner, so unfortunately I could not have the steak. But many of my friends visited here and said it was great. I am going to visit here again and post about it soon.

That day, I tried a variety of fruit cocktails made from fresh fruits, which are being served as signatures at OX bar. All fruit cocktails were so fresh, sweet and well balanced. I could feel that they are trying to pick fresh ripe fruits. So, if you plan to visit here, I recommend to try one of signature cocktails here.

It seems that having only cocktails or whiskies is not enough to enjoy OX bar. So, just empty your stomach and have some nicely cooked aging steak and fresh fruit cocktails together.
 
 
 
☞Address : B1 68-21 Hannam-dong, Yongsan-gu, Seoul (서울 용산구 한남대로18길 27 지하1층)
 
 
 
 
 
 

경복궁에 위치한 빅블루를 운영하시는 대표님이 최근에 한남동에 옥스바를 오픈하셨다. 빅블루가 홍대에 있었을 당시부터 스테이크가 그렇게나 유명했는데, 동일한 스테이크를 이제 한남동에서도 즐길 수 있게 되었다. 스테이크를 자랑으로 내건 만큼 입구에서부터 맞이하는 에이징룸이 예사롭지 않다. 저녁을 먹고 늦은 밤 방문한 턱에, 아쉽게도 스테이크는 맛을 보지 못했다. [수준급이라는 믿을만한 정보] 이 날은 옥스바에서 시그니쳐로 선보이고 있는 신선한 과일을 착즙해서 만드는 과일 칵테일을 여러가지 맛보았다. 생 파인애플을 갈아 만든 피나콜라다라니... 2.3만원에 이 정도면 한남동에서 꽤 경쟁력 있는 것 같다. 저녁을 먹고 2차로 가볍게 한잔하러 가는 곳이 아니라, 저녁과 후식을 1타2피 해야할 곳.

OX Bar의 장점은,

  1. 가성비 좋은 수준급 스테이크와 수준급 칵테일을 한 자리에서 맛 볼수 있다.
  2. 신선한 과일을 머들링해서 바로 만들어주는 독특한 시그니쳐 칵테일 메뉴
  3. 커버차지가 없다.
     
      
     
     
     
     
     
    Fresh pineapple for Pinacolada [신선한 파인애플]

Muddling [머들링으로 으깨기]

Fresh apple for Apple pie [신선한 사과]

Bartender Soowon Lee [이수원 바텐더]

Cocktail Moscato [칵테일 모스카토] 2.3

Graham's Tawny port 10yr [그라함 토니 포트 10년]

Cocktail Hallafizz [칵테일 한라봉피즈] 2.3

Sort:  

I lived in Hannam-dong many years ago when I was assigned to Seoul as part of my military duties in the late 1980's. Ox Bar was probably not open that far back. Love the post. Might drop by next time I'm in Seoul. My wife's family lives in Korea. 위대한 포스트 주셔서 감사합니다.

Thank you for having interest in my post ! it's very interesting that you were in korea in the late 80's. Actually it was when I was born haha. If you had not been here since then, im sure you will be really surprised that Seoul has been changed so much. I guess your wife is korean? hope you have a chance to visit here soon. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63916.19
ETH 3461.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50