Opaque Consciousness - A fashion illustration piece I did back in 2013

in #kr7 years ago

금상-김종찬.jpg

Opaque Consciousness 2013

The 9th annual Seoul Sasada Fashion Design Illustration Competition was a maturing
experience for my creative mind to explore the limits of my capabilities as an innovative and
unique designer. It has aided my development of exploring beyond the boundaries of the
phrase, “think outside of the box.” I have always enjoyed taking one idea and expanding that
idea multiple steps forward in order to make that idea innovative, unique, and ultimately mine.
In preparation for this fashion illustration competition, I planned a little over a month
ahead. I started early in order to come up with a theme and concept and work out how to
make that innovative, unique, and mine. During the preparation and work process, I took up
the trends and interpreted them through my eyes and mind. I made the background an overall
dark-tone in order to relate to the time set on the main clock (Big Ben): 2:30 A.M. I chose
this time because it is the time when I am intellectually and physically wide awake. However,
brighter colors were used in order to make a statement on the color tones that I prefer. I
utilized many circular patterns and designs in order to define my preference; while
incorporating straight lines and check prints in order to balance out the overall structure of
the fashion illustration. The face on the top-left of the illustration was drawn to give off a
strong vibe through the dark style of makeup and the absence of the eyebrows; thus, giving
the feeling of an asexual being in order to leave a mystery to the viewers of how they would
interpret the illustration. The dress design on the main body was decided with the theme of
my illustration: London, England. I wanted to follow up on and interpret the 2013 F/W
Fashion Trend in my own version while focusing on London, England as the theme. Hence
the reason for one of the most famous buildings in London, the Big Ben, is present.
Although I have not been in the fashion design scene for long, I always believe that
my creative mind makes up for my lack of experience. This fashion illustration competition
was a first for me; however, it was a chance to test my strengths that make up for my lack of
experience. When I was told that I had received first place, I was lost for words. It has
completely washed away my doubts and fears of lacking in experience. It has strengthened
my determination to succeed. It has evolved my creative mind in multiple ways. This fashion
illustration competition was an unforgettable experience and surely it won’t be my last.

Link below is where it's displayed. The original piece is currently being displayed at Japan Sasada Fashion School
http://www.sasada.ac.kr/blog/2013/08/10/9th-%ED%8C%A8%EC%85%98%EC%9D%BC%EB%9F%AC%EC%8A%A4%ED%8A%B8-%EA%B3%B5%EB%AA%A8%EC%A0%84/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69